Skip to main content

Law: Finding Legislation

HOW IS LEGISLATION MADE?

Two brief films on the Parliamentary process:

WHERE DO I FIND UK LEGISLATION?

Statutes and Statutory Instruments from the UK can be found in the 'Legislation' sections of the legal databases.

Databases

LexisLibrary

Contains the online version of Halsbury's Statutes, arguably the most authoritative printed publication for UK legislation research.  Legislation includes the 'as amended' form of UK Parliament Acts and Church of England Measures. Also contains Welsh Assembly Acts and Measures and Scottish Parliament Acts and SIs.

Westlaw UK

Contains legislation in the 'as amended' form for the UK, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.  There is a very useful 'Statutory Definition' search box to discover if a word or phrase has been defined in statute law.

Lawtel UK

For LPC students and practitioners, this contains the original text of Acts 'as enacted' and a useful 'Statutory Status Table' to identify commencement and amendment information.

Wales 

Law Wales Website

Launched in July 2015 this site provides information about Wales' constitutional arrangements and law made in Wales.

 

TRACKING UK LEGISLATION

If you need to keep up to date with new UK Acts of Parliament sign up for RSS feeds from http://www.legislation.gov.uk/new such as:

Keep up to date with everything happening in Parliament via Twitter and Facebook.

Further information is available from http://www.legislation.gov.uk/new:

  • All Bills currently before the UK Parliament are listed on the UK Parliament website in the Parliamentary Business, Bills & Legislation section which also shows what stage a Bill has reached on its passage through Parliament.
  • The history of the parliamentary debates relating to Bills in the UK Parliament can be found in Hansard the edited verbatim report of proceedings of both the House of Commons and the House of Lords.
  • All Bills currently before the Scottish Parliament,Northern Ireland Assembly ,and the National Assembly for Wales can be found on the individual national Parliamentary and Assembly websites.
  • Bills only become Acts once they have passed all stages of their applicable Parliamentary procedure and receive Royal Assent. Once an Act has received Royal Assent, it is published under the authority of the Queen's Printer to this website.

WHERE DO I FIND EU LEGISLATION?

Find EU treaties and legislation in the following places:

Databases

LexisLibrary

In the Legislation section there is a link to 'International Legislation' here you can find EU treaties, legislation and materials.

Westlaw UK

Look for the 'EU' link to find treaties, legislation, preparatory acts, information and notices.

Websites

Europa: Find Legislation

Treaties, EU regulations, directives and decisions - with a direct or indirect effect on EU member states.

FLARE Index to Treaties

This is a searchable database of basic information on over 2,000 of the most significant multilateral treaties and some bilateral treaties concluded between 1353 and the present, with details of where the full text of each treaty may be found in print or on the internet.

OTHER SOURCES