Skip to main content

Childhood Studies: Finding Articles

A Subject Guide for Childhood Studies students at The University of South Wales

FINDING ARTICLES

We have access to many thousands of e-journals and print journals.

Searching for a specific journal title?
1. Go to FINDit. Select the Find Journal link.

2. Search here for the title of the journal e.g. American History.

Searching for a specific journal article or generally for a topic?
1. Go to FINDit. Select the Article Search tab.
2. Search here for the title of the article e.g. 'The broken hexagon: French nuclear culture between Empire and Cold War'. 

KEY DATABASES

British Education Index
Provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Particular strengths include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs.

Proquest Psychology Journals
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 700 titles, with over 575 titles available in full text. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.

PsycINFO 
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, medicine, nursing and pharmacology.

ScienceDirect 
Offers journal articles and book chapters, many in full text,  from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.

CINAHL Plus
This is mainly a nursing database but does contain useful full text articles on child behaviour (be aware that American spellings may be used e.g. "behavior").

KEY JOURNALS

Journals provide the latest research and comment.

Here are some examples of eJournals you may find useful:

Here are some examples of printed journals you may find useful:

NEWSPAPERS

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers by using any of the following resources:

LexisLibrary
European Newsstream (formerly UK Newsstand)

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches. More information can be found on our Help page.

FINDit

ELSEWHERE ON THE WEB

TRIAL DATABASES

Occasionally the Library offers trials of new databases to allow students and staff the opportunity to examine their suitability. Depending on the feedback obtained, and the cost involved, some of these databases may be added to the USW collection. 

Please send us your comments or feedback.