Skip to main content

Gender and Entrepreneurship: Finding Articles

KEY DATABASES

These are some of the most important databases:

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

In addition to our collections of books and journal articles, there are a number of specialist sources that you may find useful:

IBIS World 
Assists in making better business decisions on strategies and revenue generation by gaining an instant understanding of an industry faster & more conveniently than previously possible.

Mintel Reports- Mintel produces hundreds of market research reports into UK-specific consumer markets every year.

Mintel Market Sizes- Contains market size data, market share and segmentation, market forecast data and socio-economic data for 17 industries in 30 countries.

 

KEY JOURNALS

Journals (also known as periodicals or serials) are published on a regular basis (for example, weekly or monthly).  Each journal issue contains a number of articles written by different authors.  Journals differ in quality and reputation: peer reviewed journals are regarded as being of higher quality.  Here are some examples of journals that are available to you to browse online:

NEWSPAPERS

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers by using any of the following resources:

LexisLibrary
European Newsstream (formerly UK Newsstand)

TRIAL DATABASES

Occasionally the Library offers trials of new databases to allow students and staff the opportunity to examine their suitability. Depending on the feedback obtained, and the cost involved, some of these databases may be added to the USW collection. 

Please send us your comments or feedback.

FINDit

USEFUL WEBSITES

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches. More information can be found on our Help page.

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

  • Record TV and radio quickly and simply
  • View Over 1 million programmes available in the archive
  • Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
  • Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
  • Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days