Journals are publications that are published on a regular and ongoing basis, for example, weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually. They contain a selection of articles in a subject area by different authors. These articles are known as journal articles. Academic journal articles are written by researchers and their articles are reviewed by other experts in the same subject area, in a process called peer-review. Peer-reviewed journal articles are considered to be the best quality journal articles available. Journal articles are the best place to find the most recent research on a topic.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowOS maps are available in the Treforest Library. Find them at classmark 912.42961 (Reference only)
Historical maps are available in the plan chest in Treforest Library
Digital version of OS maps can be found on Digimap
A wide range of maps are available through the National Library of Scotland
Please ask your librarian for help finding maps.
Information Protocol (pdf)
Information Protocol to support BS EN ISO 19650-2 the delivery phase of assets
BIM Conditions of Contract (pdf)
Conditions of Contract for Building Information Modelling (BIM). The Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors.
BIM for Project Managers (pdf)
BIM continues to dominate processes across the built environment. It offers extensive opportunities to drive a more effective and efficient built environment.
Building Information Modelling (BIM) Protocol
Standard Protocol for use in projects using Building Information Models
Information Management - BS EN ISO 19650-3:2020
Organization and digitization of information about buildings and civil engineering works, including building information modelling (BIM). Information management using building information modelling. Operational phase of the assets.
Access this standard on BSOL.
The JCT - The Joint Contracts Tribunal, produces standard forms of contract for construction, guidance notes and other standard documentation for use in the construction industry.
Access online through the Construction Information Service Database (CIS)
Useful Books
Chappel D (2016) The JCT minor works building contracts 2016
Lupton S (2017) Guide to JCT Standard Building Contract
Lupton S (2016) Guide to JCT Minor Works Building Contract
Lupton S (2016) Guide to JCT Design and Build Contract
Lupton S (2019) Which contract? Choosing the appropriate building contract (Access through the CIS)
NEC - New Engineering Contract is a family of contracts that facilitates the implementation of sound project management principles and practices as well as defining legal relationships.
The full set of the NEC 3 and 4 contracts is available at our Treforest campus Library at 692.8 NEC.
New: NEC4 contracts are now available online via FINDit. Search using keywords NEC4 Contracts issuing body.
NEC4 User guides
NEC4 Option A Priced contract with activity schedule.
NEC4 Option C Target contract with activity schedule
Useful Books
Hughes K (2018) Understanding NEC4
Hughes K (2020) Understanding NEC4 Professional Contract
Bronwyn M (2018) NEC4: The role of the project manager
ICE (2017) NEC3 and NEC4 compared
Gerrard R (2017) NEC4 practical solutions
Broome J (2019) NEC4 Resolving and Avoiding Disputes
Official website NEC - https://www.neccontract.com/
NEC Youtube Chanel - lots of training videos, case studies, webinars.
FIDIC - The International Federation of Consulting Engineers, has long been renowned for its standard forms of contract for use between employers and contractors on international construction projects
The FIDIC contracts can be found on the Construction Information Service database.
Print copies of some of the contracts can be found in the Treforest campus library.
FIDIC conditions of contract for EPC/turnkey projects. (Silver Book)
FIDIC conditions of contract for construction (Red Book)
FIDIC conditions of contract for plant and design-build (Yellow Book)
Useful Books
Client/consultant model services 2017 (White Book) available on the Construction Information Service database.
Charratt D, (2018) The application of contracts in engineering and construction projects
Hughes K (2020) Understanding FIDIC: The rainbow suite
Official website FIDIC - http://fidic.org/
ACE Professional Services Agreement 2017 - Also available on CIS
ACE Agreement Sub-consultancy Professional services sub-consultancy agreement. 2017 edition (Incorporating January 2017 amendments) (ACE, 2017) - Access on the CIS
RICS Standard Form of Consultant's appointment
Forms to be used with the RICS standard form of consultant's appointment and RICS Short form of consultant's appointment.
RIBA Standard Professional Services Contract 2020: Architectural Services
The new 2020 edition of the RIBA Standard Professional Services Contract has been fully updated to align with the revised RIBA Plan of Work and is for the appointment of an architect or consultant providing architectural services.
ACA PPC 2000
Standard Form of Contract for Project Partnering
Both PPC2000 and the TPC2005 Term Partnering Contract have been widely adopted in the public and private sector on projects and programmes for the procurement of offices and housing, schools and universities, care homes and hospitals, airport facilities and roads, hotels and leisure
facilities to name but a few.
The aim of Cement and Concrete Research is to publish the best research on the materials science and engineering of cement, cement composites, mortars, concrete and other allied materials that incorporate cement or other mineral binders.
An international journal devoted to investigations of energy use and efficiency in buildings
Energy and Buildings is an international journal publishing articles with explicit links to energy use in buildings. The aim is to present new research results, and new proven practice aimed at reducing the energy needs of a building and improving indoor environment quality. Energy and Buildings considers and publishes articles considerably advancing Building Science.
An international journal dedicated to the investigation and innovative use of materials in construction and repair.
Construction and Building Materials provides an international forum for the dissemination of innovative and original research and development in the field of construction and building materials and their application in new works and repair practice.
Building Services Engineering Research & Technology is one of the foremost, international peer-reviewed journals that publishes the highest quality original research relevant to today’s Built Environment.
Published in conjunction with CIBSE, this impressive journal reports on the latest research, providing you with an invaluable guide to recent developments in the field.
Building and Environment is international journal that publishes original research papers, comprehensive review articles, editorials, and short communications related to building science, urban physics, and human interaction with the indoor and outdoor built environment.
Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. In Scholar you can search across many disciplines and sources, including journal articles, theses, books and abstracts, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
How is it different from Google?
Google has a broader scope than Google Scholar and looks for resources regardless of where they come from and who they are written by. Instead of searching the entire web, Google Scholar just searches for scholarly literature. This means you will get far more relevant, authoritative and up to date results.
Can I access full text articles?
Yes, but not always. Some articles are freely available, plus you can also set up Google Scholar to access the University’s journal subscriptions.
To do this click on Settings then Library Links. Type USW into the search box and select FINDit@University of South Wales – Viewonline@USW.Tick the boxes next to the results and save. You will now be able to access our subscriptions via Google Scholar.
Do I still need to use FINDit?
Google Scholar is a good starting point for your research, but please be aware that it doesn’t index everything. It is important to use FINDit as well to search our subscription databases and journals for relevant journal articles.
For more information have a look at our Guide to FINDit or contact your Faculty Librarian.