Journals are publications that are published on a regular and ongoing basis, for example, weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually. They contain a selection of articles in a subject area by different authors. These articles are known as journal articles. Academic journal articles are written by researchers and their articles are reviewed by other experts in the same subject area, in a process called peer-review. Peer-reviewed journal articles are considered to be the best quality journal articles available. Journal articles are the best place to find the most recent research on a topic.
The easiest way to find articles is by using an appropriate database. You can search by subject/keyword, author, title, etc., for details of where articles and papers can be found. Benefits include the ability to search a number of years together; more summaries and abstracts, and often there is direct access to the full-text.
These are some of the most important databases for Strategy & Management:
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowTo see all the business databases you have access to, take a look at our A-Z database list.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowJournals (also known as periodicals or serials) are published on a regular basis (for example, weekly or monthly). Each journal issue contains a number of articles written by different authors. Journals differ in quality and reputation: peer reviewed journals are regarded as being of higher quality. Here are some examples of journals that are available to you to browse online:
Here are some examples of print edition journals available that you may find useful:
These are only a few of the titles available. Use FINDit and the Library Catalogue to discover more.
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. In Scholar you can search across many disciplines and sources, including journal articles, theses, books and abstracts, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
How is it different from Google?
Google has a broader scope than Google Scholar and looks for resources regardless of where they come from and who they are written by. Instead of searching the entire web, Google Scholar just searches for scholarly literature. This means you will get far more relevant, authoritative and up to date results.
Can I access full text articles?
Yes, but not always. Some articles are freely available, plus you can also set up Google Scholar to access the University’s journal subscriptions.
To do this click on Settings then Library Links. Type USW into the search box and select FINDit@University of South Wales – Viewonline@USW.Tick the boxes next to the results and save. You will now be able to access our subscriptions via Google Scholar.
Do I still need to use FINDit?
Google Scholar is a good starting point for your research, but please be aware that it doesn’t index everything. It is important to use FINDit as well to search our subscription databases and journals for relevant journal articles.
For more information have a look at our Guide to FINDit or contact your Faculty Librarian.
Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:
You can use Gartner to access:
· The latest IT research and technology news, case studies and trends to support your research and business projects
· Research special projects – Providing insights into major business and technology trends
· Gartner Magic Quadrant, Vendor Ratings and Hyde Cycles, to inform plans and support business decisions
· Online IT events