LibGuides: Project Management: Finding Articles

Key Databases

The easiest way to find articles is by using an appropriate database. You can search by subject/keyword, author, title, etc., forndetails of where articles and papers can be found. Benefits include the ability to search a number of years together; more summaries and abstracts, and often there is direct access to the full-text.

These are some of the most important databases for finding information on your subject:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Full text for more than 3,800 scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications. Additional content includes case studies, market research reports, company records, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, videos, books/monographs and conference proceedings.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date Range: 1886 - onward
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window The starting place for research on a range of management subject areas. Includes full-text access to journal articles, eBooks, case studies and archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date range:1967 - onward
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date range 1975 - onwards
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Health Science, Life Science, Arts and Humanities, Social Science and Physical Science.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date Range: 1970 – onwards

To see all the business databases you have access to, take a look at our A-Z database list.

Key Journals

Journals (also known as periodicals or serials) are published on a regular basis (for example, weekly or monthly). Each journal issue contains a number of articles written by different authors. Journals differ in quality and reputation: peer reviewed journals are regarded as being of higher quality. Here are some examples of journals that are available to you to browse online:

Case Studies

Business Case Studies
Free downloadable case studies involving real companies.
Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies
We have access to case studies from 2016 via Emerald that offer practical insights into real-world situations. To get access, do your topic search, then from the results list use the limiters on the left-hand side to select 'case studies' and 'only content I have access to'.
Business Source Complete Case Studies
Use Business Source Complete to find case studies within articles.
Using the first line of the search add your topic, e.g. Leadership.Then add another line wtih "case studies" and select SU Subject Terms from the drop down menu.

FINDit

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches. More information can be found on our Help page.

Useful Websites

Association for Project Management
APM's mission statement is “To provide leadership to the movement of committed organisations and individuals who share our passion for improving project outcomes”.
Project Management Institute | PMI UK Chapter
PMI in the UK is a body for project management knowledge, assisting those in the UK Project realm with both local and global networking, education, information and leveraging opportunities.
Project Management Today
Current news and articles on project management.

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers by using any of the following resources:

LexisLibrary
European Newstream

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

Record TV and radio quickly and simply
View Over 1 million programmes available in the archive
Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days

BoB Curated Playlists
This is a growing collection of curated playlists hosted by Learning on Screen and curated by academics on a diverse range of disciplines, subject areas or modules.

Project Management: Finding Articles