LibGuides: Hospitality Management: Find Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Key Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.

The easiest way to find articles is by using an appropriate eDatabase. You can search by subject/keyword, author, title, etc., for details of where articles and papers can be found. Benefits include the ability to search a number of years together; more summaries and abstracts, and often there is direct access to the full-text.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 3,800 scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications. Additional content includes case studies, market research reports, company records, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, videos, books/monographs and conference proceedings.
Date Range: 1886 - onward
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The starting place for research on a range of management subject areas. Includes full-text access to journal articles, eBooks, case studies and archives.
Date range:1967 - onward
Leisure Tourism Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full Text links where available. Contains information from the leisure, recreation, sport, hospitality, tourism and culture sectors, including academic research, industry reports, books, conferences and news. Access to over 140,000 abstracts (including over 4000 full text documents), news and review articles, and over 2000 book chapters.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards

To see all the business databases you have access to, take a look at our A-Z database list.

Market Research

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.

IBIS World
Market industry research reports for UK, US and China. Also includes risk impact reports and Brexit impact reports.

Mintel Reports
Contains market research reports on a wide range of industries including food, drink, retail, technology, media and automotive.
Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market share analysis and consumer profiles.

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista is a great source of global market and consumer data. It includes statistics, reports, infographics, surveys, industry and market reports. Over 85,000 topics are covered, including media, business, politics, society, technology, education.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news

Mintel Market Sizes
Contains market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide.

Marketline Information
Contains company profiles, SWOT analyses, PESTLE analyses, industry profiles, country profiles, case studies, and news.
Select the company profiles, or company information link to get access.

Key Journals

Journals (also known as periodicals or serials) are published on a regular basis (for example, weekly or monthly). Each journal issue contains a number of articles written by different authors. Journals differ in quality and reputation: peer reviewed journals are regarded as being of higher quality. Here are some examples of journals that are available to you to browse online:

International Journal of Hospitality Management
International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management
Journal of Hospitality and Tourism Management
International Journal of Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research
Management Decision
Management Quarterly
Managing Service Quality
Journal of Marketing Management
Journal of organizational behaviour

Useful Websites

Big Hospitality
Daily news for hospitality and catering, hotels, pubs, and restaurants. Free access to news on hospitality management in Britain.
UKHospitality
UKHospitality is the powerful voice representing the broad hospitality sector. Get free access to a range of news, guides, reports, blogs, campaigns and much more.
Caterer and Hotelkeeper
Hotel and restaurant news from the hospitality industry including catering, food industry, hotels, restaurants and pubs.
Green Hotelier | Green Hotels, Sustainable Tourism & Eco Travel
Green Hotelier is the leading source of information on the sustainable and responsible agenda within the hotel industry.
Hospitality and Catering News
Keep up to date with hospitality and catering news.
Hospitality Design | Latest Commercial Interior Design News
Hospitality Design is the leading commercial interior design publication. They have the latest industry news & feature projects for hotel & restaurant design.
Hospitality Trends
Hospitality Industry Trends, research and Market reports.
International Tourism Partnership
Sustainable Restaurant Association
The SRA provides restaurants with advice and support to help them navigate the whole spectrum of sustainability issues.
Visit Britain
A great website to explore tourism and hospitality across Britain.

Hospitality Management News

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers by using any of the following resources:

LexisLibrary
European Newsstream (formerly UK Newsstand)

Case Studies

Business Case Studies
Free downloadable case studies involving real companies.
Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies
We have access to case studies from 2016 via Emerald that offer practical insights into real-world situations. To get access, do your topic search, then from the results list use the limiters on the left-hand side to select 'case studies' and 'only content I have access to'.
Business Source Complete Case Studies
Use Business Source Complete to find case studies within articles.
Using the first line of the search add your topic, e.g. Leadership.Then add another line wtih "case studies" and select SU Subject Terms from the drop down menu.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches. More information can be found on our Help page.

Hospitality Management: Find Articles

What is a journal