Skip to main content

Staff guide to the library: Support for Teaching

A guide for new staff/
Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

Reading Lists

Students enrolled on courses that use Blackboard can access their reading lists online, provided lecturers pass the information to the Library. 

The Digital Resources Librarian, Rachael Johnson, coordinates the creation of online reading lists and module links to it. 

Send us your lists
It is important to send us this information well in advance of the start of your module to allow us enough time to get books on the shelves or obtain electronic copies of material.

Online Reading Lists
We are now able to put your reading lists online and incorporate them into your Blackboard modules.

More information, including  "how to guides" can be found here.

The Library has also created a Youtube playlist to help you to create and edit your own reading lists.  You can access the online reading lists system here.   

If you would like to make your reading list available online please contact your Faculty Librarian.

Suggest new resources

As a member of academic staff you can recommend  books, eBooks or DVDs for the library to purchase.

New requests for journals and databases are also considered annually, but may have to be balanced by cancellations due to funding restraints.

Contact your Faculty Librarian to discuss your requirements.

You can also use the recommend a book form on the Hub.

Please note, submission of a request does not guarantee purchase. Further information can be found in our Collection Management Policy.

 

Subject Guides

Our subject guides provide students and staff with key information about our collections. 

Each subject guide introduces key resources and the specialist support that the Library provides students and staff - books, journal articles, primary and specialist sources such as archives, government publications, working papers, legal materials and datasets.

If you want to discuss an exisisting guide or request a new subject guide, please speak to your Librarian.

Support for courses

Please keep your Faculty Librarian informed during the various stages of planning your course curriculum so that the best possible library provision can be made to support the courses.

New Courses

Normally the Library has available a contingency fund which is primarily used to support new courses or ones that have been considerably rewritten. You will find more details about this fund under the section on Funding and Budgeting

Similarly, it will help Faculty Librarians to make the necessary adjustments to the provision of library resources for modules or courses if you inform them when modules or courses are withdrawn from the teaching prospectus.

Validation Events and Professional Accreditation

To help you prepare for a new scheme validation, revalidation or professional accreditation visit your Faculty Librarian who can provide documentation on the Library and its services as well as information specific to the particular course or Faculty (including financial information). Contact your Faculty Librarian in good time so that up-to-date information can be prepared.

Your Faculty Librarian can also be present at the validation event to respond to issues about learning resources if required. As part of an accreditation visit, your Faculty Librarian can provide a brief tour and presentation of learning resources.

Please liaise well in advance of the visit so that this can be arranged.

Adding Resources to the library

• What’s the procedure for ordering books for the library?

• Can I suggest new journal titles?

• Can I send you lists?

• How many copies of a book can I order?

• Do you have a Short Loan Collection?

The answers to these questions and more are contained in the Collection Management Policy.

Information literacy

Arranging information literacy sessions for your students

Faculty Librarians provide Information literacy sessions for your students throughout the year.

These sessions introduce basic strategies for searching electronic databases, journals and the Internet.

We work with you to tailor the session so that it is relevant and subject specific. More advanced sessions can also be arranged for students about to start their dissertation for example.

Please contact your Faculty Librarian to arrange a session. As we aim to tailor these sessions to suit your students' needs we will need sufficient time to prepare.

More details can be found in our Information Literacy framework.

Broadcast recordings

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

BoB is available to staff, students and researchers at member universities and colleges across the UK.

Complete programmes or clips can be embedded into Blackboard, see the BoB guide for further details. Find out more and login

 

Exam papers

Staff and students can access exam papers online via the library website.

 

Library funding and budgeting

Library Funding and Budgeting
Your Faculty Librarian manages two funds for the purchase of material to support teaching and learning in your Faculty.

One is an allocation for books and audio-visual material and the other is a subscriptions fund which covers periodicals and electronic databases. As fund-holders, Faculty Librarians have some flexibility in allocating and spending their funds.

Normally, each year a contingency fund is made available for the purchase of material to support new modules and courses. The usual practice is for your Faculty Librarian to contact you in April or May to confirm details of new courses so that a bid for ‘one-off’ purchases can be made.

From time to time the Library receives money that has been earmarked for the support of research being carried out in the University. When such money is available Faculty Librarians will again consult with appropriate staff with the purpose of putting together a bid to purchase research material.

The Collection Management Policy provides full details.