LibGuides: Football Coaching, Development and Performance: Finding Articles

Key Databases

A database is an electronic collection of information stored in a computer program that enables you to find information from the database in different ways. Databases in the library can contain journal articles, newspaper articles, specialist information or a combination of different information resources. Databases can be multi-disciplinary or subject specific.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering a wide range of academic disciplines. It provides full text for around 9,000 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,060 titles.
Date Range: 1975 – onward
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the leading bibliographic database for sports and sports medicine research. It includes records from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations and more.

Key Journals

If you are looking for a particular journal title then click 'FIND JOURNALS' at the top of FIND it to search/browse an A-Z list. When you find the journal you want, click on the title to see all relevant information for that title.

The 'View Online' section will provide you with links to the journal and information about which date range USW has access to.

Here are some examples of eJournals you may find useful:

Here is an example of a printed journal you may find useful:

Research quarterly for exercise and sport

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

FINDit

Useful Websites

Association for Physical Education
The Association for Physical Education (afPE) is the only physical education subject association in the UK. Its purpose is to promote and maintain high standards and safe practice in all aspects and at all levels of physical education, influencing developments in physical education at national and local levels.
Curriculum and Qualifications Authority
The Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA) is committed to building a world-class education and training framework that meets the changing needs of individuals, business and society. They lead developments in curriculum, assessments, examinations and qualifications.
Department for Education
The Department for Education is responsible for education and children’s services in England.
English Football Association
Football rules and governance
Football Association of Wales
The association that has governed football in Wales since 1876.
Sport England
Previously known as the English Sports Council, Sport England provides services and funding to sport in England.
Sport Wales
The national organisation responsible for increasing participation and improving performance in sport in Wales.
Sports Coach UK
Their vision is UK coaching excellence enabling every child, player and athlete to follow their dreams, have fun and fulfil their potential.
UK Sport
Established by Royal Charter in 1997, UK Sport is responsible for investing around £100 million of public funds each year – from both the National Lottery and the Exchequer – in high performance sport.
Welsh Government: Education and skills
It is responsible for education and skills in Wales. They are working to raise the standards of education and training provision, attainment and infrastructure across Wales

Football Coaching, Development and Performance: Finding Articles

What is a Journal?

Key Databases

Key Journals

Newspapers

FINDit

FINDit is a simple, one-step search method for books, e-books, articles, DVDs and more, and includes a number of personalized features for you.

Useful Websites