Cite them right : the essential referencing guide. 12th ed
by
The the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. The fully revised and updated 12th edition contains: Expanded guidance on the key principles of referencing and avoiding plagiarism, including new sections on collecting evidence to use in your work; reading, listening and taking notes; and using other people's work in your writing. New reference examples for Tik Tok, blog posts, Zoom and Teams, recorded lectures and online seminars.
Critical thinking skills developing effective analysis and argument. 3rd ed.
by
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Dissertations and project reports a step by step guide
by
The book breaks the process into manageable chunks and covers everything from preparation and planning through to conducting research and writing up the finished article. Packed with dozens of hands-on activities and quotes from real students, this book demystifies dissertations and project reports and helps ensure that the process is an enjoyable and rewarding experience. This is an invaluable resource for students of all levels embarking on a dissertation, project report or other piece of extended writing. Its interdisciplinary approach means it is the ideal companion for students of all disciplines.
Doing your research project. 7th ed.
by
This practical, no-nonsense guide is vital reading for all those embarking on undergraduate or postgraduate study in any discipline, and for professionals in such fields as social science, education and health.
How to write your literature review
by
This engaging guide by bestselling author Bryan Greetham takes students step-by-step through the process of writing a literature review, and equips them with practical strategies to help them navigate each stage. Each bite-sized chapter focuses on a specific aspect of the process, from generating ideas and pinning down the research problem through to searching for sources, citing references and planning, writing and editing the review. Chapters feature examples and exercises to help students apply ideas to their own work. Whether your students are writing a stand-alone review or one that is part of a dissertation or thesis, this guide is their essential companion.
How to write your undergraduate dissertation. 3rd ed.
by
This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work. It shows students how to choose the most appropriate methods for collecting and analysing their data and how to then integrate this research into their dissertation. Students will learn how to develop consistent and persuasive arguments and write up their research in a clear and concise style. This book is an essential resource for undergraduates of all disciplines who are required to write a dissertation as part of their degree.
Skills for success : personal development and employability. 4th ed
by
Now in its fourth edition, this indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and build the skills and capabilities today's employers want. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job.
The study skills handbook. 5th ed.
by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
How to write your literature review
by
This engaging guide by bestselling author Bryan Greetham takes students step-by-step through the process of writing a literature review, and equips them with practical strategies to help them navigate each stage. Each bite-sized chapter focuses on a specific aspect of the process, from generating ideas and pinning down the research problem through to searching for sources, citing references and planning, writing and editing the review. Chapters feature examples and exercises to help students apply ideas to their own work. Whether your students are writing a stand-alone review or one that is part of a dissertation or thesis, this guide is their essential companion.
The literature review : a step-by-step guide for students
by
This Second Edition of Diana Ridley's bestselling guide to the literature review provides a step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and literature review, and guides the reader in how to write up a literature review as part of a PhD thesis or Masters dissertation.
The literature review: six steps to success. 4th ed.
by
The latest edition features new graphics illustrating the pioneering six-step model, tips for writing in the early stages, and new learning tools and reflection sections.
Succeeding with your literature review a handbook for students
by
"An excellent and accessible text that will help all students and scholars to develop a strong review and enable them to outline and analyse the key ideas for their study. The structure of the book is really well thought out and the chapters are written in a way which readers will find helpful and easy to understand. I would highly recommend this book to research students." Professor Mark Brundrett, Liverpool John Moores University, UK This step-by-step handbook provides comprehensive and practical guidance on the process of researching a range of relevant literature on a subject, as well as planning and writing a literature review. The book takes a student friendly approach to offer complete novices a simple review of a process which is often central to producing a research study. Succeeding with your Literature Review will enable you to: Design a literature review which is related to the main facets of a research project Conduct a logically-planned search for relevant literature Determine which literature is most suited to inclusion in your study Analyse the literature, drawing comparisons and connections where appropriate Appraise the strengths and weaknesses of relevant literature Write logically and rationally about the key features of literature Write a literature review in a sound academic style Understand how to relate a literature review to other elements of your study or dissertation Written by an author with extensive experience of supervising and examining undergraduate, Masters and doctoral dissertations, this book covers the latest trends, such as: RSS feeds, wikis, grey literature, blogs and forms of open access publishing. The book also includes examples of common pitfalls, good practice, key terms and questions to reinforce student learning and reflection. Succeeding with your Literature Review is relevant in all subject areas and is essential reading for third year undergraduate and postgraduate students.
Turn your literature review into an argument
by
Frequently students confuse literature reviews with summaries of existing research, and they can easily get overwhelmed by the amount of material they have to consider and filter as part of their review. Likewise, they don't often realize that a considered, planned, structured and balanced argument forms the bedrock of a successful research project. Outlining what a literature review is - and isn't - and showcasing how to use the literature to your advantage to construct a strong academic argument, this Little Quick Fix answers important questions like - What is the purpose of a literature review? - How can I tell the difference between an argument and an academic argument? - What do I need to create my argument? - What do I need from an article to support my argument? - How do I create a counterargument? - How can I make sure I'm creating a strong argument and plausible counterargument? - How can I win my argument?Students need help over hurdles at every stage of their research project. They want simple, powerful, accessible tools that deliver results fast. They need to meet interim assessment deadlines and prove that they have successfully passed through multiple stages of their project, or need to master a stage of understanding in a learning cascade before they can proceed to the next week in their methods module. Their supervisors are increasingly unable to help, but will still be assessing results. Students need more than YouTube. Titles in the Little Quick Fix series offer: · Visual, design-led learning · Clear, structured, useful pedagogy · A hand-holding, step-by-step approach for students who are less able, or less academically prepared by school so far · Effective self-directed learning with DIY progress tracking · A stand-in for the busy/unavailable supervisor
For further help see our Literature Review Online Reading List.
This engaging guide by bestselling author Bryan Greetham takes students step-by-step through the process of writing a literature review, and equips them with practical strategies to help them navigate each stage. Each bite-sized chapter focuses on a specific aspect of the process, from generating ideas and pinning down the research problem through to searching for sources, citing references and planning, writing and editing the review. Chapters feature examples and exercises to help students apply ideas to their own work. Whether your students are writing a stand-alone review or one that is part of a dissertation or thesis, this guide is their essential companion.
Graduate students who turn in exceptional literature reviews are recognized as excellent critical thinkers, as well as masters of academic argumentation, research writing and writing academic papers. But literature searches and composing the review itself can be intimidating and frustrating. The six-step process pioneered by this book has made the task flowing and seamless for masters and doctoral candidates in Education and related fields.
This Second Edition of Diana Ridley's bestselling guide to the literature review provides a step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and literature review, and guides the reader in how to write up a literature review as part of a PhD thesis or Masters dissertation.
"An excellent and accessible text that will help all students and scholars to develop a strong review and enable them to outline and analyse the key ideas for their study".
Frequently students confuse literature reviews with summaries of existing research, and they can easily get overwhelmed by the amount of material they have to consider and filter as part of their review. Likewise, they don't often realize that a considered, planned, structured and balanced argument forms the bedrock of a successful research project. Outlining what a literature review is - and isn't - and showcasing how to use the literature to your advantage to construct a strong academic argument, this Little Quick Fix answers important questions like - What is the purpose of a literature review? - How can I tell the difference between an argument and an academic argument? - What do I need to create my argument? - What do I need from an article to support my argument? - How do I create a counterargument? - How can I make sure I'm creating a strong argument and plausible counterargument? - How can I win my argument? Students need help over hurdles at every stage of their research project.
Animation Magazine is an American magazine and website covering the animation industry and education, as well as visual effects.
Animation Practice, Process & Production is a double-blind peer-reviewed journal presenting, analysing and exploring how animation is created and shown.
Edge magazine is the leading multi-format video game magazine, for all things video games.
Games and Culture is a peer-reviewed and published quarterly, is an international journal that promotes innovative theoretical and empirical research about games and culture within interactive media.
3D World is a magazine and website whose main focus is 3D animation, visual effects, videogame design, illustration and architectural visualisation.
Computer Animation and Virtual Worlds is the first journal to address the global thematic of the Virtual Worlds.
Applied theatre: research
by
Applied Theatre: Research is the first book to consolidate thinking about applied theatre as research through a thorough investigation of ATAR as a research methodology. It will be an indispensable resource for teachers and researchers in the area.The first section of the book details the history of the relationship between applied theatre and research, especially in the area of evaluation and impact assessment, and offering an examination of the literature surrounding applied theatre and research. The book then explores how applied theatre as research (ATAR) works as a democratic and pro-social adjunct to community based research and explains its complex relationship to arts informed inquiry, Indigenous research methods and other research epistemologies. The book provides a rationale for this approach focusing on its capacity for reciprocity within communities. The second part of the book provides a series of international case studies of effective practice which detail some of the key approaches in the method and based on work conducted in Australia, New Zealand, Singapore and the South Pacific. The case studies provide a range of cultural contexts for the playing out of various forms of ATAR, and a concluding chapter considers the tensions and the possibilities inherent in ATAR.This is a groundbreaking book for all researchers who are working with communities who require a method that moves beyond current research practice.
Creative research : the theory and practice of research for the Creative Industries
by
Academic research in design can seem daunting - let Hilary Collins show you the building blocks of a great final project. The perfect companion for a research project in fashion, design or visual communication, this 2nd edition of Creative Research walks you through:· Choosing a topic· Deciding your approach· Using previous research and writing a literature review· Obtaining your own data and using it appropriatelyUseful case studies show best practice, revealing the links between a researcher's choice of method and the conclusions they draw. Packed with advice on how to manage your time and structure your project effectively, this edition also includes new sections on design thinking and ethnography.Collins marries theory and practice from start to finish, showing you everything you need to confidently embark on your creative research project.
Design studies theory and research in graphic design
by
"Design Studies", a collection of 27 essays from an international cast of top design researchers, sets out to mend this schism between research and practice.
Doing research in design
by
'Doing Research in Design' presents new ways of thinking about the relationship between design and research by positioning design as a social as well as a material practice. This approach emphasises the social consequences of design decisions as well as the importance of the efficient functioning of a design.
Doing research in fashion and dress : an introduction to qualitative methods. 2nd ed.
by
Whether you're investigating fashion as a material object, an abstract idea, a social phenomenon, or a commercial system, qualitative techniques can further your understanding of almost any research topic.
Game research methods
by
Games are increasingly becoming the focus for research due to their cultural and economic impact on modern society. However, there are many different types of approaches and methods than can be applied to understanding games or those that play games. This book provides an introduction to various game research methods that are useful to students in all levels of higher education covering both quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. In addition, approaches using game development for research is described. Each method is described in its own chapter by a researcher with practical experience of applying the method to topic of games. Through this, the book provides an overview of research methods that enable us to better our understanding on games.
Handbook of arts-based research
by
Bringing together interdisciplinary leaders in methodology and arts-based research (ABR), this comprehensive handbook explores the synergies between artistic and research practices and addresses issues in designing, implementing, evaluating, and publishing ABR studies. Coverage includes the full range of ABR genres, including those based in literature (such as narrative and poetic inquiry); performance (music, dance, playbuilding); visual arts (drawing and painting, collage, installation art, comics); and audiovisual and multimethod approaches. Each genre is described in detail and brought to life with robust research examples. Team approaches, ethics, and public scholarship are discussed, as are innovative ways that ABR is used within creative arts therapies, psychology, education, sociology, health sciences, business, and other disciplines. The companion website includes selected figures from the book in full color, additional online-only figures, and links to online videos of performance pieces. This e-book edition features 61 full-color figures. (Figures will appear in black and white on black-and-white e-readers). See also Dr. Leavy's authored book, Method Meets Art, Second Edition, an ideal course text that provides an accessible introduction to ABR.
Illustration research methods
by
For years illustration has lacked a strong critical history in which to frame it, with academics and media alike assessing it as part of design rather than a discipline in its own right. Illustration Research Methods addresses this void and adds to a fast-emerging discipline, establishing a lexicon that is specific to discussing contemporary illustration practice and research. The chapters are broken down into the various roles that exist within the industry and which illustration research can draw from, such as 'Reporting' and 'Education'. In doing so, users are able to explore a diverse range of disciplines that are rich in critical theory and can map these existing research methodologies to their own study and practice. Supported by a wealth of case studies from international educators, student projects sit alongside those of world-renowned illustrators. Thus allowing users the opportunity to put what they have learnt into context and offering insight into the thinking and techniques behind some of illustrations' greats.
Music in words : a guide to researching and writing about music. 2nd ed.
by
Music in Words is both a guide and an invaluable reference tool for researching and writing about music. Fully updated and revised, the book aims to address all the issues that anyone, from students to professional musicians, may encounter when undertaking a writing task, irrespective of the style of music they are writing about.
Photographers and research: the role of research in contemporary photographic practice
by
This ground-breaking book situates research at the heart of photographic practice, asking the key question: What does research mean for photographers? Illuminating the nature and scope of research and its practical application to photography, the book explores how research provides a critical framework to help develop awareness, extend subject knowledge, and inform the development of photographic work. The authors consider research as integral to the creative process and, through interviews with leading photographers, explore how photographers have embedded research strategies into their creative practice.   
Research-inspired design
by
This textbook/workbook prepares interior design students for understanding how to change their professional practice from a project-based activity to a knowledge-based activity. Robinson and Parman address the different forms of quantitative and qualitative information, the different sources of materials (especially in the age of the Internet), and how to differentiate these sources and types of information. Instructors will find the text a vital research aid for the student to develop analytical skills and help them transform these scientific models into unique and innovative processes for their design projects.
Research and design for fashion
by
The ability to generate inspired ideas is vital in all creative industries, and nowhere is this more true than in the fast-paced and trend-driven fashion industry. A bestseller in both the UK and US, this fully revised third edition of Research and Design uniquely provides a handy and indispensable resource that will gently guide readers through the fashion design process. Comprising a complete toolkit of key need-to-know topics, Research and Design demonstrates how important fashion design research is to the creation of inspired designs and concepts. Topics explored include choosing themes, compiling research, using your sketchbook as a design tool, techniques for drawing, and collage, juxtaposition and deconstruction, as well as how to design from your research, design development, working with the colour wheel, and how to successfully communicate your ideas, fully equipping readers with all the knowledge and tools needed to embark on their own design projects. Now fully revised and updated with beautiful and inspiring new visuals from the studio, designers' portfolios, and the catwalk, as well as exciting new case studies, interviews with practising fashion designers, and practical exercises, Research and Design will show readers how to excel in carrying out professional fashion research and design.
Research for designers
by
Today, designers design services, processes and organizations; craft skills no longer suffice. We need to discover, define and solve problems based upon evidence. We need to demonstrate the validity of our claims. We need a guide to design research that can educate students and be a reference for professionals. And here it is: a masterful book for 21st century designers.′ - Don Norman, Professor and Director of Design Lab, University of California San Diego, and former Vice President, Advanced Technologies, Apple ′Muratovski provides a structured approach to introducing students and researchers to design research and takes the reader through the research process from defining the research problem to the literature review on to data collection and analysis. With such practical and useful chapters, this book should prove to be essential reading in design schools across the world.′ - Tracy Bhamra, Professor of Sustainable Design and Pro Vice-Chancellor of Enterprise, Loughborough University Design is everywhere: it influences how we live, what we wear, how we communicate, what we buy, and how we behave. In order for designers to design for the real world, defining strategies rather than just implementing them, they need to learn how to understand and solve complex, intricate and often unexpected problems. This book is a guide to this new creative process. With this book in hand, students of design will: understand and apply the vocabulary and strategies of research methods learn how to adapt themselves to unfamiliar situations develop techniques for collaborating with non-designers find and use facts from diverse sources in order to prove or disprove their ideas make informed decisions in a systematic and insightful way use research tools to find new and unexpected design solutions. Research for Designers is an essential toolkit for a design education and a must-have for every design student who is getting ready to tackle their own research.
Research in photography : behind the image. 2nd ed.
by
A body of photographic work is developed through knowledge gained in exploring the medium: investigating histories and theories of photography, observing the world, reading and listening, taking part in debate and critical reflection. With 150 images bringing together an eclectic range of photographic styles and genres, Fox and Caruana demonstrate how research can lead to fruitful, original photography projects.Designed to help you create better pictures, for portfolio or for profit, Research in Photography offers essential research and communication techniques to complement your technical expertise through a range of practical tools and examples. Two new chapters have been added to this second edition on 'Writing for Research' and 'Commercial Practice', as well as additional coverage discussing how to secure funding and professionalizing research.
Research methods in theatre and performance
by
How have theatre and performance research methods and methodologies engaged the expanding diversity of performing arts practices? How can students best combine performance/theatre research approaches in their projects? This book's 29 contributors provide hands-on answers to such questions. Challenging and debating received research wisdom and exploring innovative procedures for rigorous enquiry via archives, technology, practice-as-research, scenography, performer training, applied theatre/performance, body in performance and more, they create a focussed compendium of future research options.
The Routledge companion to design research
by
The Routledge Companion to Design Research offers a comprehensive examination of design research, celebrating the plurality of design research and the wide range of conceptual, methodological, technological and theoretical approaches evident in contemporary design research. This volume comprises 39 original and high quality design research chapters from contributors around the world, with offerings from the vast array of disciplines in and around modern design praxis, including areas such as industrial and product design, visual communication, interaction design, fashion design, service design, engineering and architecture. The Companion is divided into five distinct sections with chapters that examine the nature and process of design research, the purpose of design research, and how one might embark on design research. They also explore how leading design researchers conduct their design research through formulating and asking questions in novel ways, and the creative methods and tools they use to collect and analyse data. The Companion also includes a number of case studies that illustrate how one might best communicate and disseminate design research through contributions that offer techniques for writing and publicising research. The Routledge Companion to Design Research will have wide appeal to researchers and educators in design and design-related disciplines such as engineering, business, marketing, computing, and will make an invaluable contribution to state-of-the-art design research at postgraduate, doctoral, and post-doctoral levels and teaching across a wide range of different disciplines.
Undergraduate research in film : a guide for students
by
Undergraduate Research in Film: A Guide for Students supplies tools for building research skills, with examples of undergraduate research activities and case studies on projects in the various areas in the study of film, film theory, film production, history of film, and interdisciplinary projects. Professors and students can use it as a text and/or a reference book. Essentially, what makes this volume unique is that it brings together examples of film projects and film studies courses within the framework of research skills. Following an overview chapter, the next seven chapters cover research skills including writing literature reviews, choosing topics and formulating questions,working with human subjects, collecting and analyzing data, citing sources and disseminating results. A wide variety of sub-disciplines follow in chapters 9-16 with sample project ideas from each, as well as undergraduate research conference abstracts. The final chapter is an annotated guide to online resources. All chapters begin with inspiring quotations and end with relevant discussion questions.
Undergraduate research in music : a guide for students
by
Undergraduate Research in Music: A Guide for Students supplies tools for scaffolding research skills, with examples of undergraduate research activities and case studies on projects in the various areas of music study. Undergraduate research has become a common degree requirement in some disciplines and is growing rapidly. Many undergraduate activities in music have components that could be combined into compelling undergraduate research projects, either in the required curriculum, as part of existing courses, or in capstone courses centered on undergraduate research. The book begins with an overview chapter, followed by the seven chapters on research skills, including literature reviews, choosing topics, formulating questions, citing sources, disseminating results, and working with data and human subjects. A wide variety of musical subdisciplines follow in Chapters 9-18, with sample project ideas from each, as well as undergraduate research conference abstracts. The final chapter is an annotated guide to online resources that students can access and readily operate. Each chapter opens with inspiring quotations, and wraps up with applicable discussion questions. Professors and students can use Undergraduate Research in Music: A Guide for Students as a text or a reference book in any course that has a significant opportunity for the creation of knowledge or art, within the discipline of music or in connecting music with other disciplines.
Undergraduate research in theatre : a guide for students
by
Undergraduate Research in Theatre: A Guide for Students supplies tools for scaffolding research skills alongside examples of undergraduate research in theatre and performance scholarship. The book begins with an overview of the necessity of framing theatre as undergraduate research and responding to calls for revolutionizing the discipline toward greater equity, diversity, and inclusion. Dedicated chapters for the research, skills, and methods employed by each theatre area follow: scripted theatre; devised and new works; applied theatre; scenic, costume, sound, and lighting design; and theatre theory and interdisciplinary studies. Throughout the book, undergraduate research activities are demonstrated by 36 case studies authored by undergraduates from six countries about diverse areas of theatre study. Suitable for both professors and students, Undergraduate Research in Theatre is an ideal resource for any course that has an opportunity for the creation of new knowledge or as an essential interdisciplinary connection between theatre, performance, and other disciplines.
Visual research : an introduction to research methodologies in graphic design. 2nd ed.
by
Visual Research- An Introduction to Research Methodologies in Graphic Design (second edition) is a guide to the practice of researching for graphic design projects. This book explains the key terms and theories that underlie design research; examining the importance of audience, communication theory, semiotics and semantics. It features a range of case studies that demonstrate how the use of rigorous research methods can form the basis of effective visual communication and design problem solving, eschewing end product analysis for a discussion of the way research feeds into the design process. This edition also includes 12 new international case studies, end of chapter exercises, a new chapter on Visual Grammar and a foreword by Ellen Lupton, an internationally renowned graphic designer, writer, curator and educator.