Skip to Main Content

Rugby Coaching, Development and Performance: Finding Articles

Mae'r canllaw hon hefyd ar gael yn

What is a Journal?

Journals are publications that are published on a regular and ongoing basis, for example, weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually.  They contain a selection of articles in a subject area by different authors.  These articles are known as journal articles.  Academic journal articles are written by researchers and their articles are reviewed by other experts in the same subject area, in a process called peer-review.  Peer-reviewed journal articles are considered to be the best quality journal articles available. Journal articles are the best place to find the most recent research on a topic. 

Key Databases

A database is an electronic collection of information stored in a computer program that enables you to find information from the database in different ways.  Databases in the library can contain journal articles, newspaper articles, specialist information or a combination of different information resources.  Databases can be multi-disciplinary or subject specific.  

Key Journals

If you are looking for a particular journal title then click 'FIND JOURNALS' at the top of FIND it to search/browse an A-Z list.  When you find the journal you want, click on the title to see all relevant information for that title.

The 'View Online' section will provide you with links to the journal and information about which date range USW has access to.

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches. More information can be found on our Help page.

Google Scholar Search

FINDit

 

FINDit is a simple, one-step search method for books, e-books, articles, DVDs and more, and includes a number of personalized features for you.

Useful Websites

School Experience Collection