Skip to main content

Criminology: Finding Articles

FINDING ARTICLES

We have access to many thousands of e-journals and print journals.

Searching for a specific journal title?
1. Go to FINDit. Select the Find Journal link.

2. Search here for the title of the journal e.g. American History.

Searching for a specific journal article or generally for a topic?
1. Go to FINDit. Select the Article Search tab.
2. Search here for the title of the article e.g. 'The broken hexagon: French nuclear culture between Empire and Cold War'. 

KEY DATABASES

Here are some of the most important databases for Criminology:

Academic Search Complete
Includes full text for 1800 publication, for nearly every academic field of study.

ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Covering health, social services, social issues, drug and alcohol addiction, probation and criminal justice.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with full text
Indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports. 

ScienceDirect 

Elsevier's electronic multidisciplinary collection including: social sciences.

Web of Science  
A multidisciplinary index with many links to full text.

Westlaw UK
A key legal research database.

 

LITERATURE SEARCHING TIPS

FINDit

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches. More information can be found on our Help page.

USEFUL WEBSITES

Always evaluate the quality of the information you find on the free web using the CRAAP test.

Here are some links to high quality websites in your subject area:

NEWSPAPERS LINDA

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

  • Record TV and radio quickly and simply
  • View Over 1 million programmes available in the archive
  • Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
  • Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
  • Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days

 

TRIAL DATABASES

Occasionally the Library offers trials of new databases to allow students and staff the opportunity to examine their suitability. Depending on the feedback obtained, and the cost involved, some of these databases may be added to the USW collection. 

Please send us your comments or feedback.