Skip to main content

Public Services and Sociology: Finding Articles

FINDING ARTICLES

We have access to many thousands of e-journals and print journals.

Searching for a specific journal title?
1. Go to FINDit. Select the Find Journal link.

2. Search here for the title of the journal e.g. American History.

Searching for a specific journal article or generally for a topic?
1. Go to FINDit. Select the Article Search tab.
2. Search here for the title of the article e.g. 'The broken hexagon: French nuclear culture between Empire and Cold War'. 

KEY DATABASES

These are some of the most important databases for your subject:

Academic Search Complete Covering a wide range of academic disciplines. It provides full text for around 9,000 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,060 titles

ASSIA 

An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

Business Source Complete

Full text for more than 3,800 scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications. Includes case studies, market research reports, company records, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, videos, books/monographs and conference proceedings.

CINAHL Plus

Provides broad content coverage including over 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine.

Emerald Insight

The starting place for research on a range of management subject areas. Includes full-text access to journal articles, eBooks, case studies and archives.

History of Feminism
Covers the period 1776-1928 with an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles, as well as new thematic essays, and subject introductions on its structural themes. 

JSTOR Arts & Sciences II & III 

An archive of important scholarly journals in many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences

Web of Science 

The gold standard for research discovery and analytics. It connects publications and researchers through citations and controlled indexing in curated databases spanning every discipline.

FINDit

 

 

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches. More information can be found on our Help page.

NEWSPAPERS

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

USEFUL WEBSITES

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

  • Record TV and radio quickly and simply
  • View Over 1 million programmes available in the archive
  • Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
  • Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
  • Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days