Skip to Main Content

Public Services Management: Finding articles

A guide for students studying Public Service Management, Leadership and Governance at USW.
Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

What is a Journal?

Journals are publications that are published on a regular and ongoing basis, for example, weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually.  They contain a selection of articles in a subject area by different authors.  These articles are known as journal articles.  Academic journal articles are written by researchers and their articles are reviewed by other experts in the same subject area, in a process called peer-review.  Peer-reviewed journal articles are considered to be the best quality journal articles available. Journal articles are the best place to find the most recent research on a topic. 

Looking for a journal article

  1. If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
  2. You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
  3. Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
  4. If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Key Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches. More information can be found on our Help page.

Google Scholar Search

FINDit

 

FINDit is a simple, one-step search method for books, e-books, articles, DVDs and more, and includes a number of personalized features for you.

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

Useful Websites

Always evaluate the quality of the information you find on the free web using criteria such as the CRAAP test.

Here are some links to high quality websites in your subject area:

Academic Search engines

Google Scholar
Contains peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Youcan link Scholar to FINDit to discover quickly if we have access to subscribed content.

CORE (COnnecting REpositories)
This is a service provided by the Knowledge Media Institute based at The Open University, United Kingdom. The goal of the project is to aggregate all open access content distributed across different systems, such as repositories and open access journals, enrich this content using text mining and data mining, and provide free access to it through a set of services.

Semantic Scholar
This was created by a team at the Allen Institute for AI, and was released at the end of 2015 as a search engine for academic publications.

OAIster (Open Archives Initiative) 
Search millions of records of open access resources.