Skip to main content

Social Work: Finding Articles

A Social Work Guide for students at The University of South Wales

KEY DATABASES

These are some of the most important databases for Social Work.

‚ÄčASSIA 

Provides information for the caring professions and applied social sciences, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, and education. Contains a core of around 500 English language scholarly journals from a broadly social scientific perspective.

Community Care Inform: the Online Resource for Child Social Workers 

Community Care Inform is an online comprehensive data source that contains a wealth of expert-written, practice-related information, including: Guidance to key pieces of legislation, expert articles, practice guides.

Proquest Psychology Journals
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full-text.  It encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. 

Social Care Online

Social Care Online is produced by the Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) and is the UK's largest database of information on all aspects of social care and social work.

To access a complete list of databases that are relevant to Social Work click here.

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches. More information can be found on our Help page.

FINDit

 

 

ELSEWHERE ON THE WEB

NEWSPAPERS

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers by using any of the following resources:

LexisLibrary
European Newsstream (formerly UK Newsstand)

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

  • Record TV and radio quickly and simply
  • View Over 1 million programmes available in the archive
  • Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
  • Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
  • Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days