Finding BooksFinding Journal ArticlesFinding Official PublicationsFinding NewspapersFinding BlogsCommercial Awareness
Finding LegislationFinding Cases
This is the "Home" page of the "Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Develop your scholarly and professional legal research skills using this guide.
Last Updated: May 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.southwales.ac.uk/law Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

USER FEEDBACK

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

TWEETS FROM USW LIBRARY

 

WELCOME TO THE LAW SUBJECT GUIDE

This guide will direct you to a range of the best sources of information for law.

Your success as a law student depends upon reading and referencing a wide range of authoritative legal information.

Use this guide to learn how to search professional legal databases and printed publications quickly and confidently.

Developing your legal research skills will also benefit your employment prospects; combined with critical thinking skills, they are highly valued by the legal profession.

The sources of law referred to come from the jurisdiction of England and Wales, from European law and include some comparative International materials.

Further guides for legal research can be found in the Law section at the bottom of this page.

Emily Allbon's Lawbore: The Law Student's Guide to the Web is a fantastic resource full of hints, tips and links.

Gary Slappers' Legal Skills Guide contains lots of useful information to accompany his English Legal System textbook.

Ian Thompson's Europe on the Internet 53 slide pdf provides extensive links to European Information.

UPDATED 2017:

BREXIT resources curated by Middle Temple

Researching Applicable Law in Wales – What is Unique in Wales?

Law PORT from IALS:

The tutorials within Law PORT have been designed to support postgraduate researchers with common research tasks in the sphere of public international law, and in the correct use of OSCOLA.

 

KEY DATABASES

JustCite: the Good Law Guide

JustCite is an online legal research platform that helps you find leading authorities and establish the current status of the law.

  • Helps you to identify the leading case in seconds. The search ranking considers the relationships between cases, not just keyword frequency
  • It marks up the specific effects of cases, so you know whether those cases are still “good law”
  • The database also shows you how legislation has been amended and applied in court

LexisLibrary

Take the LexisLibrary certification test here.

  • Cases - The Law Reports (ICLR) and All England Law Reports +
  • Legislation - full, amended text of all public general Acts currently in force
  • Commentary - including the key legal encyclopeadia Halsbury's Laws of England
  • Journals - several full text journals and details of many more
  • News - UK broadsheets and regional news articles
  • EU and International materials - selected sources
  • Forms & Precedents and Practice Areas - specialist tools for LPC students
  • Current awareness - search and browse

Westlaw UK

Find online training materials and the Westlaw UK certification test: here.

  • Insight and Index of Legal Terms - for encyclopedic and dictionary definitions
  • Cases - The Law Reports (ICLR) and Weekly Law Reports +
  • Legislation - full, amended text of all public general Acts currently in force
  • Journals - contains The Legal Journals Index
  • EU and International materials - selected sources
  • Books - specialist works for LPC students
  • Current awareness - search and browse
  • Find Westlaw International online training materials: here.

Lawtel UK

A database aimed at practitioners and LPC students, first with the latest legal news.

  • Cases - latest cases, case comments, PI Quantum Reports, cause lists and pending actions
  • Legislation - statutes and SIs, bills, command papers, legislation calendars and the CPR
  • Articles & Press - brief journal details only and the latest news snippets
  • Specialist Areas - Busy Solicitors' Digest, Havers, Litigator, Employment, HR, PI and Local Government

Heinonline

An archive database useful for international journals, containing the:

  • Law Journal Library - strong on American journals and law reviews
  • The English Reports (1220-1865) - case law reports (otherwise known as the nominate reports)

There is a Getting Started Guide here.

History of Feminism

Covers the period 1776-1928 with an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles, as well as new thematic essays, and subject introductions on its structural themes. 

IDS Online

IDS (Incomes Data Services) is an independent research organisation providing information and analysis in key areas including employment law.

SportDiscus

Indexes the literature in the field of sport and recreation, drawing from books, conference proceedings, research papers and about 2,000 journals from around the world.

 

OSCOLA REFERENCING

Find the latest version of the USW OSCOLA guide here:

OSCOLA Referencing Guide, Revised 2014

OSCOLA Referencing film:


 

Ask a Librarian

 

LEXIS AND WESTLAW STUDENT ASSOCIATES

LexisLibrary:

Lauren Crisp

13008730@students.southwales.ac.uk

Westlaw UK:

Karl Shortman

14008637@students.southwales.ac.uk

 

Treforest Law Floorplan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip