Skip to Main Content

Law: What library resources you need

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

Introduction

When you start your studies, it can feel a bit overwhelming with all the information you need to process.

This guide gives you a very short introduction to the main library resources you are going to need and why to get you started on your journey.

Law resources

  • FINDit is the library catalogue, but it does do more than that, as it also allows you to find books articles and databases.
  • Law Trove is a collection of legal textbooks from Oxford University Press. This collection covers all areas of law. You will find that much of the information you need to begin your course is available through this databases and many of your lecturers use books from this collection as the essential reading for their modules. Make sure you familiarise yourself with this fantastic collection. Some of the books are introductions to an area of law, other books (usually subtitled Text, Cases and Materials) provide commentary to cases and academic texts to get you thinking critically about different points of law.
  • Westlaw is one of the most important law databases: it contains links to law reports (reported law cases), legislation, law articles and books. As part of your law degree, you will need to show the ability to find and analyse cases. The academic commentary found in articles provides you with the information you need for the critical analysis of law.
  • Practical Law is part of WestLaw. It is aimed at practitioners and you will find how many law firms use Practical Law. It provided up to date information on all areas of law in a summarised way. Knowing how to use this database is a great skills to showcase when you apply for jobs.
  • LexisPlus is very similar to WestLaw.  it contains links to law reports (reported law cases), legislation, law articles and books. You need to be aware that cases are reported in different collections (Law Reports) so you might find that you need to explore Lexis and WestLaw to find the case you need. LexisPlus is an essential tool for Family Law. LexisPlus also gives you access to Halsbury's Laws of England, an encyclopaedia of legislation, the perfect place to start your legal research.
  • Lexis Practical Guidance (Lexis PSL) is very similar to WestLaw's Practical Law but with better coverage for Family Law.