Books give an overview of a subject and provide information on core concepts and theories. This makes them a good starting point for your assignments. Core books for your subject will be listed on your module reading list. If you have an online reading list on Blackboard or another learning environment, this will show you the copies of the book available from the library. You can also find books by searching FINDit, the Library search engine.
You can browse the collection using the shelfmarks below:
| 658.8 | Marketing |
| 658.827 | Branding & brand identity |
| 658.83 | Market research |
| 658.8342 | Consumer behaviour |
| 659.1 | Advertising |
| 659.152 | Fashion shows |
| 659.2 | Public Relations |
| 686.22 | Typography |
| 687.042 | Pattern making |
| 741.60275 | Logo design |
| 741.652 | Magazine design |
| 741.67 | Advertising design |
| 741.672 | Fashion illustration |
| 746 | Textiles / Textile design |
| 746.92 | Fashion design |
| 746.92068 | Fashion business |
| 746.920688 | Fashion marketing |
| 746.9209 | Fashion history |
| 746.92092 | Fashion designers |
Use FINDit: Search/Libraries, to perform detailed searches for individual books or for material relevant to your topic or subject.
1. To find a specific book title, enter the book title or author in the FINDit search box and select the Libraries search option.
2. To find books on a subject, enter a keyword into the FINDit search box and select the Libraries search option.
3. Can’t find the book you are looking for? You can request it as an interlibrary loan or Recommend the book to your Librarian
Let's work together to make our collection blossom
Fill out the online form or email your librarian.
A market-leading text, providing you with the most comprehensive guide to the strategies, techniques, and online trends that have transformed the way companies communicate with their consumer audiences today.
This book provides a snapshot of the major social, cultural and economic changes that have taken place in the contemporary consumer society following the global financial crisis of 2008.
This book assesses the legacy of Dick Hebdige and his work on subcultures in his seminal work, Subculture: The Meaning of Style (1979). The volume interrogates the concept of subculture put forward by Hebdige, and asks if this concept is still capable of helping us understand the subcultures of the twenty-first century.
Advertising, Gender and Societyexplores contemporary social-psychological theory and original research that examines the portrayal of gender in advertising. It reports empirical data, discusses the social implications of gendered advertising. Zawisza-Riley analyses theories such as stereotype content and elaboration likelihood models, stereotype threat and ambivalent sexism theories, the selectivity hypothesis as well as implicit and embodied cognition to illuminate the relationships between sex, gender and advertising in cultural and social contexts. Advertising, Gender and Society is ideal for students, academics and professionals in the fields of psychology, gender and media studies as well as marketing, advertising and policy-making.
Branding Diversity considers how brands both reflect and affect contemporary discussions of cultural diversity. Advancing an innovative, critical perspective on advertising, the book challenges the latent assumption that advertisers are inherently conservative and reluctant to represent anything other than popularly agreeable scripts and narratives. On the contrary, advertising is now replete with progressive messaging. Through Budweiser, Gillette, Vogue and Patagonia, Susie Khamis demonstrates that such forays into the political realm are not just shrewd appraisals of popular causes, but also inevitable outcomes of contemporary media and politics. This book will be of interest to scholars in advertising studies, marketing communications and media studies.
The Advertising Handbook provides a critical introduction to advertising and marketing practices today. Contributions from leading international scholars and practitioners offer extended coverage of the contemporary shifts and pressures reshaping the marketing communications (or advertising and marketing) industries and their relationship to the consumer. Profiles and case studies illustrate innovation and diversification among advertising, marketing and public relations companies.
Fashion Promotion is an inspiring and practical guide to promoting a brand. It addresses the new ways in which brands engage with customers, through the latest digital channels as well as traditional methods. Topics covered include developing a brand from an original idea, the impact of blogging and street style sites, digital fashion, online and offline marketing techniques, creating the vision behind a brand, and public relations. The new edition covers the impact of mobile on fashion retail transactions and marketing, the role for virtual and augmented reality and the increasing importance of sustainable production and distribution.
Digital marketing changes the dynamics of traditional routes to market, augments conversations and facilitates the measurement of activities by organisations and consumers alike. This Handbook strives to advance the study and understanding of this domain and provides a digital marketing journey that flows from methods and methodologies. It is essential reading for postgraduate students, researchers, and practitioners in a range of disciplines exploring digital marketing. Part 1: Foundations of Digital Marketing Part 2: Methodologies and Theories in Digital Marketing Part 3: Channels and Platforms in Digital Marketing Part 4: Tools, Tactics and Techniques in Digital Marketing Part 5: Management and Metrics in Digital Marketing Part 6: Ethical Issues in Digital Marketing
The Library has access to a wide variety of eBooks across all subject areas, these are discoverable and accessible via FINDit. Type your keywords or title into the search box and choose to search 'Libraries'.
Next refine your search to 'Full Text Online' on the left hand side of the search results.
When you have found a book that you would like to read then click on the title and access via the 'View it' link.
More information can be found in our eBooks Guide.