LibGuides: Biological Sciences: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Websites

Aves 3D
Aves 3D is a National Science Foundation funded online database of three-dimensional digital surface models of the various bones that make up the skeleton of birds.
Darwin Online
Darwin Online is the largest and most widely consulted edition of the writings of Darwin ever published. It is probably the most extensive scholarly website devoted to any historical figure.
Freshwater Biological Association
Founded in 1929, it promotes freshwater science through innovative research, maintained specialist scientific facilities, a programme of scientific meetings, production of publications, and by providing sound independent scientific opinion.
Index to Organism Names (ION)
ION contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record® database. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from other Thomson Reuters databases such as BIOSIS Previews®.
Marine Biological Association
Founded in 1884, its aim is 'to promote scientific research into all aspects of life in the sea, including the environment on which it depends, and to disseminate to the public the knowledge gained'
National Center for Biotechnology Information
A search and retrieval database from the U.S. National Center for Biotechnology Information
NERC - Open Resource Archive
This is a repository for published material resulting from research by the Natural Environment Research Council. It contains research output of the British Antarctic Survey, British Geological Survey, Centre for Ecology & Hydrology and the Proudman Oceanographic
Royal Society of Biology
The Royal Society of Biology is a single unified voice for biology.
Science Photo Library
The leading source of science and medical images & videos

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

FINDit

Key Databases

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
Date range - 1990 onwards
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Health Science, Life Science, Arts and Humanities, Social Science and Physical Science.
Date Range: 1970 – onwards
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards