LibGuides: Journalism: Finding articles

What is a journal?

Journals are publications that are published on a regular and ongoing basis, for example, weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually. They contain a selection of articles in a subject area by different authors. These articles are known as journal articles. Academic journal articles are written by researchers and their articles are reviewed by other experts in the same subject area, in a process called peer-review. Peer-reviewed journal articles are considered to be the best quality journal articles available. Journal articles are the best place to find the most recent research on a topic.

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Useful websites

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

Key databases

These are some of the most important databases for your subject:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering a wide range of academic disciplines. It provides full text for around 9,000 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,060 titles.
Date Range: 1975 – onward
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most complete full-text research database for communication studies. It offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines and other sources covering, advertising, communications theory, cultural studies, journalism, media studies and related fields.

To access the complete list of databases suitable for Journalism, go here.

These are some of the our newspaper databases:

European Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 300 UK newspapers including The Guardian, Financial Times, The Times (18/04/1992 - 17/12/2021), Sunday Times (17/03/1996 - 12/12/2021) and The Telegraph, plus many regional newspapers, including the South Wales Echo and the Western Mail. You can also view magazines such as New Statesman, and The Spectator.
Date Range: 1990s – onward
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format
Lexis+ UK News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of UK national and regional newspapers.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format

Access the complete list here.