LibGuides: International Business: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Key Databases

The easiest way to find articles is by using an appropriate database. You can search by subject/keyword, author, title, etc., for details of where articles and papers can be found. Benefits include the ability to search a number of years together; more summaries and abstracts, and often there is direct access to the full-text.

These are some of the most important databases for finding information about enterprise and international business:

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 3,800 scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications. Additional content includes case studies, market research reports, company records, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, videos, books/monographs and conference proceedings.
Date Range: 1886 - onward
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The starting place for research on a range of management subject areas. Includes full-text access to journal articles, eBooks, case studies and archives.
Date range:1967 - onward
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards

To see all the business databases you have access to, take a look at our A-Z database list.

Key Journals

Journals (also known as periodicals or serials) are published on a regular basis (for example, weekly or monthly). Each journal issue contains a number of articles written by different authors. Journals differ in quality and reputation: peer reviewed journals are regarded as being of higher quality. Here are some examples of journals that are available to you to browse online:

These are only a few of the titles available. Please use FINDit to discover more.

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

FINDit

Useful Websites

BCC | British Chambers of Commerce
BCC is an independent business network with Accredited Chambers in every region of the UK. They providea voice for British business and commentary on the UK economy, including quarterly economic survey data.
BIS | Department for Business, Innovation & Skills
BIS is the ministerial department for economic growth. The department invests in skills and education to promote trade, boost innovation and help people to start and grow a business. BIS also protects consumers and reduces the impact of regulation.
CBI | The Confederation of British Industry
CBI is a UK business lobbying organisation providing a voice for employers at a national and international level
The Conversation | Business & Economy
The Conversation is an independent source of news and views, sourced from the academic and research community and delivered direct to the public.
Enterprise Nation
Enterprise Nation's mission is to create an inspirational environment for business owners and would-be entrepreneurs.
GEM | Global Entrepreneurship Monitor
The Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM) project is an annual assessment of the entrepreneurial activity, aspirations and attitudes of individuals across a wide range of countries.
IEA | Institute of Economic Affairs
IEA is a free-market think-tank with a mission to improve understanding of the fundamental institutions of a free society by analysing and expounding the role of markets in solving economic and social problems.
IoD | Institute of Directors
IoD has been supporting businesses, and the people who run them, since 1903.
IOEE | Institute of Enterprise and Entrepreneurs
IOEE is a membership organisation for anyone who is thinking about starting, or already running, their own business, those who support them, and those employed in innovative and entrepreneurial businesses.
ISBE | Institute for Small Business and Entrepreneurship
ISBE is a network for people and organisations involved in small business and entrepreneurship research, policy, education, support and advice.
JSTOR Daily | Business & Economics
Insight, commentary, and analysis of ideas, research, and current events, tapping into the rich scholarship on JSTOR.
Northcote | Annual Reports
Northcote provides a gateway to UK companies' annual reports on the Internet.
ReportLinker | Sources
Free tool for finding industry data.
Welsh Government | Business in Focus
Welsh Government funded business start up advice and support. Available in Bridgend, Caerphilly, Cardiff, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Swansea and the Vale of Glamorgan.
Welsh Government | Business Wales
The Welsh Government provides information on their flexible support service for small businesses, events, directories, opportunities and resources.
Institute of Business Ethics
The Institute of Business Ethics is a registered charity which promotes high standards of business practice based on ethical values.
Free, downloadable Business Ethics reports available.

Market research

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.

IBIS World
Market industry research reports for UK, US and China. Also includes risk impact reports and Brexit impact reports.

Mintel Reports
Contains market research reports on a wide range of industries including food, drink, retail, technology, media and automotive.
Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market share analysis and consumer profiles.

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista is a great source of global market and consumer data. It includes statistics, reports, infographics, surveys, industry and market reports. Over 85,000 topics are covered, including media, business, politics, society, technology, education.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news

Mintel Market Sizes
Contains market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide.

Marketline Information
Contains company profiles, SWOT analyses, PESTLE analyses, industry profiles, country profiles, case studies, and news.
Select the company profiles, or company information link to get access.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

International Business: Finding Articles

What is a journal?