LibGuides: Master of Business Administration (MBA): Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Key Databases

These are some of the most important databases for MBA:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Full text for more than 3,800 scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications. Additional content includes case studies, market research reports, company records, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, videos, books/monographs and conference proceedings.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date Range: 1886 - onward
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window The starting place for research on a range of management subject areas. Includes full-text access to journal articles, eBooks, case studies and archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date range:1967 - onward
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date range 1975 - onwards
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Health Science, Life Science, Arts and Humanities, Social Science and Physical Science.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date Range: 1970 – onwards

To see all the business databases you have access to, take a look at our A-Z database list.

Key Journals

Journals (also known as periodicals or serials) are published on a regular basis (for example, weekly or monthly). Each journal issue contains a number of articles written by different authors. Journals differ in quality and reputation: peer reviewed journals are regarded as being of higher quality. Check out the Chartered Association of Business Schools' Academic Journal Guide: a guide to the range, subject matter and relative quality of journals in which academics publish their research.

Here are some examples of journals that are available to you to browse online:

Here are some examples of printed journals you may find useful:

Scopus Tutorials

Case Studies

Business Case Studies
Free downloadable case studies involving real companies.
Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies
We have access to case studies from 2016 via Emerald that offer practical insights into real-world situations. To get access, do your topic search, then from the results list use the limiters on the left-hand side to select 'case studies' and 'only content I have access to'.
Business Source Complete Case Studies
Use Business Source Complete to find case studies within articles.
Using the first line of the search add your topic, e.g. Leadership.Then add another line wtih "case studies" and select SU Subject Terms from the drop down menu.

FINDit

Useful Websites

CMI | Chartered Management Institute
CMI is a Chartered body dedicated to raising the standards of management and leadership.
The Conversation | Business + Economy
The Conversation is an independent source of news and views, sourced from the academic and research community and delivered direct to the public.
Financial Times Lexicon
A dictionary of economic, financial and business terms selected by Financial Times editors. Includes features such as ‘term of the day’ and ‘professor of the week’.
ILM | Institute of Leadership & Management
ILM is a professional membership body representing over 25,000 managers and leaders throughout their careers.
IoD | Institute of Directors
The IoD is a UK business network helping businesses of all sizes to access skills, insight and networking opportunities.
JSTOR Daily | Business & Economics
Insight, commentary, and analysis of ideas, research, and current events, tapping into the scholarship on JSTOR, a digital library of more than 2,000 academic journals.
Reuters Business UK
For the latest news, business, financial and investing news, including personal finance.
Institute of Business Ethics
The Institute of Business Ethics is a registered charity which promotes high standards of business practice based on ethical values.
Free downloadable Business Ethics reports available.

Special Collections

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Financial Analysis made Easy. Comprehensive information on companies in the UK and Ireland. Company financials, in detailed format, with up to 10 years of history.
Available on and off campus (UK mainland only)
IBIS World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market Industry Research Reports for UK, US and China. Also includes Risk Impact reports and BREXIT impact reports.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research reports covering US, EU & UK marketplaces. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market share analysis and consumer profiles.

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

Record TV and radio quickly and simply
View Over 1 million programmes available in the archive
Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days

BoB Curated Playlists
This is a growing collection of curated playlists hosted by Learning on Screen and curated by academics on a diverse range of disciplines, subject areas or modules.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

Master of Business Administration (MBA): Finding Articles

What is a journal?