LibGuides: Computing: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Useful Websites

Free Online Dictionary of Computing
FOLDOC is a computing dictionary. It includes definitions of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, history, in fact any of the vocabulary you might expect to find in a computer dictionary.
HCI Bibliography
Search over 109,000 publications on Human-Computer Interaction
arxiv.org
Open access to 947,499 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
IEEE Computer Society
This society is a source for computer technology information, inspiration, and collaboration.

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

Key Databases

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Full text articles from IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines.
Date range 1998 to the present (abstracting goes back to 1872)

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
Date Range: 1985 - present
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 3,800 scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications. Additional content includes case studies, market research reports, company records, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, videos, books/monographs and conference proceedings.
Date Range: 1886 - onward
Compendex & EI Backfile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The broadest,most complete engineering literature database available in the world. Over 20 million peer reviewed records across 190 engineering disciplines.
Date range:
Compendex 1970 - onward
EI Backfile 1884 -1968
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The starting place for research on a range of management subject areas. Includes full-text access to journal articles, eBooks, case studies and archives.
Date range:1967 - onward
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards
zbMATH
The world’s most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. Contains about 4 million bibliographic entries with reviews or abstracts currently drawn from about 3,000 journals and serials, and 180,000 books.

Key Journals

Journals provide the latest research and comment.

Here are some examples of eJournals you may find useful:

Computing: Finding Articles