LibGuides: Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Science: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Key Databases

Compendex & EI Backfile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The broadest,most complete engineering literature database available in the world. Over 20 million peer reviewed records across 190 engineering disciplines.
Date range:
Compendex 1970 - onward
EI Backfile 1884 -1968
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A resource for biomedical evidence, from published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts.
Royal Society of Chemistry eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online reference library containing more than 800 high quality, chemical science books published by the RSC.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Health Science, Life Science, Arts and Humanities, Social Science and Physical Science.
Date Range: 1970 – onwards
PubChem This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, NLM's database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Adds citations daily.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central is a publisher of 268 peer-reviewed open access journals spanning all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine. Full-text is available.

Key Journals

Here are some examples of eJournals you may find useful:

FINDit

Academic Search engines

Google Scholar
Contains peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Youcan link Scholar to FINDit to discover quickly if we have access to subscribed content.

CORE (COnnecting REpositories)
This is a service provided by the Knowledge Media Institute based at The Open University, United Kingdom. The goal of the project is to aggregate all open access content distributed across different systems, such as repositories and open access journals, enrich this content using text mining and data mining, and provide free access to it through a set of services.

Semantic Scholar
This was created by a team at the Allen Institute for AI, and was released at the end of 2015 as a search engine for academic publications.

OAIster (Open Archives Initiative)
Search millions of records of open access resources.

Websites

ChEBI
Chemical Entities of Biological Interest (ChEBI) is a freely available dictionary of molecular entities focused on 'small' chemical compounds
Chem Spider
This is a free chemical structure database providing access to over 25 million structures, properties and associated information
Chemweb
ChemWeb.com provides access to the information chemists need to enhance their research, product development, self-development, education, and/or their businesses in Chemistry and related disciplines. It provides easy access to abstracts, papers, books, conferences, news, forums and 'The Alchemist' newsletter.
National Chemical Database Service
Maintained by the Department of Chemistry at Sheffield University since 1993, this is a directory of chemistry on the web.
NIST Chemistry Webbook
Maintained by the National Institute of Standards and Technology in the USA, this searchable site provides access to the chemical and physical data of chemicals
Periodic Table
An interactive periodic table
Royal Society of Chemistry
The RSC is the largest organisation in Europe for advancing the chemical sciences.
RSC - Free resources link
Free Online Scientific Resources from the Royal Society of Chemistry
RSC LearnChemistry
LearnChemistry has everything for students of chemistry and the chemical sciences from Primary to HE. Study at your own pace with chemistry games and interactive, presentations and much more.
Science Photo Library
A high quality picture bank, created by photographers, illustrators, scientists and medical specialists

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Science: Finding Articles

What is a Journal?