LibGuides: Geography: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Websites

British Geological Survey
Founded in 1835, the BGS is the oldest national geological survey in the world.
DEFRA
The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs is the UK government department responsible for policy, regulations and guidance on the environment, food and rural affairs.
Environment Agency
This is the Executive Non-departmental public body responsible to the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and an Assembly sponsored public body responsible to the National Assembly for Wales. Its principal aims are to protect and improve the environment and to promote sustainable development.
LandIS - Land Informatin System
LandIS, the 'Land Information System’, is a substantial environmental information system operated by Cranfield University, designed to contain soil and soil-related information for England and Wales including spatial mapping of soils at a variety of scales as well as corresponding soil property and agro-climatological data.
Natural Resources Wales
The principal adviser to the Welsh Government on the environment, enabling the sustainable development of Wales’ natural resources for the benefit of people, the economy and wildlife
NERC Open Research Archive
Office for National Statistics
The ONS produces independent information to improve understanding of the UK's economy and society. It provides statistical data across a broad range of subject areas including population and environment.
Science Photo Library

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

FINDit

Key Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering a wide range of academic disciplines. It provides full text for around 9,000 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,060 titles.
Date Range: 1975 – onward
Digimap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maps and map data of Great Britain. Data can be downloaded to use with software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online.
New users must complete the registration process.
Environmental Management This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to environmental regulations and related topics pertinent to industries in the UK and Ireland. Provides official guidance, legislation, best practices and standards on topics such as waste management, pollution, emissions, WEEE and more.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
Date range - 1990 onwards
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards