Skip to Main Content

Psychotherapy and Counselling: Finding Articles

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

What is a Journal?

Journals are publications that are published on a regular and ongoing basis, for example, weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually.  They contain a selection of articles in a subject area by different authors.  These articles are known as journal articles.  Academic journal articles are written by researchers and their articles are reviewed by other experts in the same subject area, in a process called peer-review.  Peer-reviewed journal articles are considered to be the best quality journal articles available. Journal articles are the best place to find the most recent research on a topic. 

Looking for a journal article

  1. If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
  2. You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
  3. Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
  4. If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches. 

Google Scholar Search

FINDit

 

FINDit is a simple, one-step search method for books, e-books, articles, DVDs and more, and includes a number of personalized features for you.

Key Databases

A database is an electronic collection of information stored in a computer program that enables you to find information from the database in different ways.  Databases available from the library can contain journal articles, newspaper articles, specialist information or a combination of different information resources.

Databases that are most useful for this subject area are:

Other databases can found through this link.

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

  • Record TV and radio quickly and simply
  • View Over 1 million programmes available in the archive
  • Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
  • Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
  • Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days

 

BoB Curated Playlists
This is a growing collection of curated playlists hosted by Learning on Screen and curated by academics on a diverse range of disciplines, subject areas or modules.