Finding Articles - Engineering - Mechanical - LibGuides at University of South Wales

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Websites

ASME
Founded in 1880 as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, this is a not-for-profit professional organisation that enables collaboration, knowledge-sharing and skill development across all engineering disciplines whilst promoting the role of the engineer in society.
Engineer Live
Access to a range of online engineering magazines, engineering news items, suppliers database and careers opportunities.
EngNet
Directory of engineering resources which can be browsed by industry, products/services and brandnames.
Health & Safety Executive
Advice, guidance, news, templates, tools, legislation, publications from Great Britain's independent regulator for work-related health, safety and illness
Institution of Mechanical Engineers
This has been the UK's qualifying body for mechanical engineers for 160 years.
NPL
NPL is the UK's National Measurement Institute, and is a world-leading centre of excellence in developing and applying the most accurate measurement standards, science and technology available
IET
The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) is a multidisciplinary professional engineering institution

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

FINDit

Key Databases

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NB: You need to download the File open plug in. On USW computers this is available through UniApps. https://uniapps.southwales.ac.uk/login
British Standards Online is the most authoritative and up-to-date site for all publications from the British Standards Institute. It includes current, historic and draft British Standards. NB you must download a plugin to access the pdf versions of the standards.
Date range - 1919 - onwards
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The starting place for research on a range of management subject areas. Includes full-text access to journal articles, eBooks, case studies and archives.
Date range:1967 - onward
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Full text articles from IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines.
Date range 1998 to the present (abstracting goes back to 1872)
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Home to more than 200,000 industry-leading technical papers, standards, reports, books, magazines, and other content.
full text access from 1998 onwards
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards

Key Journals

Journals provide the latest research and comment.

All eJournals are listed on FINDit and you can search the Library Catalogue for the details of our print holdings, you can only search for journal titles not articles. If you are looking for articles try a Database or eJournal.

Here are some examples of eJournals

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

Engineering - Mechanical : Finding Articles

What is a Journal?