LibGuides: Professional Policing: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Key Databases

A database is an electronic collection of information stored in a computer program that enables you to find information from the database in different ways. Databases in the library can contain journal articles, newspaper articles, specialist information or a combination of different information resources. Databases can be multi-disciplinary or subject specific.

ASSIA (Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals.
Date range: 1976 - present
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The starting place for research on a range of management subject areas. Includes full-text access to journal articles, eBooks, case studies and archives.
Date range:1967 - onward
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete includes full text for more than 1,230 journals.
Full text journals, books and other published sources, covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content.
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A key legal resource, updated daily, providing access to UK legislation (as amended) and case law and selected internatioanal materials. Provides access to legal encyclopaedias, commentaries and specialist practitioners’ publications, e.g. Halsbury’s Laws of England, Halsbury’s Statute Citator and the Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents. Includes several legal journals, e.g. Law Society Gazette and New Law Journal and a searchable archive of UK national and regional newspapers.
Alongside help from the Faculty Librarian, a LexisLibrary Student Associate can help with searching techniques.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, abstracts and bibliographic records from key journals in all psychological disciplines, plus a selection of dissertations.
Date range: 1890 - present
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards
Westlaw Edge UK This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cronfa ddata ymchwil gyfreithiol allweddol. Mae'r cynnwys yn cynnwys achosion yn y DU o 1220, gan gynnwys The Law Reports a’r English Reports, cyfreithiau cyfunol llawn mewn grym, gan gynnwys Deddfau o 1267 ac Offerynnau Statudol o 1948, achosion yr Undeb Ewropeaidd o 1954, deddfwriaeth yr Undeb Ewropeaidd, gan gynnwys cytundebau a chwestiynau seneddol, Ewropeaidd a Cronfa ddata Hawliau Dynol y DU (yn cynnwys dogfennau testun llawn), Legal Journals Index o 1986.

Key Journals

FINDit

Useful Websites

National Police Chiefs Council - NPCC
The NPCC brings police forces in the UK together to help policing coordinate operations, reform, improve and provide value for money.
Her Majesty's Inspectorate of Constabulary
HMIC independently assesses police forces and policing activity.
HMIC
Her Majesty’s Inspectorate of Constabulary (HMIC) independently assesses and reports on the efficiency and effectiveness of police forces and policing from the work of neighbourhood teams to serious crime and the fight against terrorism, in the public interest. Reports giving authoritative information are available to allow the public to compare the performance of their force against others and evidence is used to drive improvements in the service to the public.
National Police Library Online
A range of useful links and resources for all aspects of police studies.
National Policing Plan for Wales
The purpose of this document is to set the strategic priorities for collaborative Policing in Wales over the next three years.
National Policing Plan 2005-08
This is the third National Policing Plan published by the Home Office. Published in 2005, it sets out the national framework for policing for the following three years.
Police Federation
The Police Federation of England and Wales is a staff association for all police constables, sergeants and inspectors (including chief inspectors).
Police UK
This website gives information about crime and policing at a local level.
Policing a New Century
The full text of the policing reform white paper, CM5326, session 2001-02, December 2001. It sets out proposals for the future management of the police service and policing in the UK.
The Police Foundation
The Police Foundation (PF) is the only independent think tank focused entirely on developing knowledge and understanding of policing and crime reduction, while challenging the police service and the government to improve policing for the benefit of the public. A range of publications is available on the work and research of the PF, most of which can be downloaded free of charge.

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

Professional Policing: Finding Articles

What is a Journal?

Looking for a journal article

Key Databases

Key Journals

FINDit

FINDit is a simple, one-step search method for books, e-books, articles, DVDs and more, and includes a number of personalized features for you.

Useful Websites

Newspapers

Google Scholar