LibGuides: Chiropractic: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Key Databases

A database is an electronic collection of information stored in a computer program that enables you to find information from the database in different ways. Databases in the library can contain journal articles, newspaper articles, specialist information or a combination of different information resources. Databases can be multi-disciplinary or subject specific.

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 330 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors, including moving structures, muscles, tendons, and joints making the same movements that they make in life. The videos show complex structures step by step—from bone to surface anatomy—to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alt Health Watch covers many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Date range: 1984 - onward
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BMJ Best Practice takes you quickly and accurately to the latest evidence-based information, whenever and wherever you need it. Our step by step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention is updated daily using robust evidence based methodology and expert opinion.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. More than 8 hours of video content. Students of medical, nursing, and related programs will appreciate the careful attention to clinical accuracy, as well as the range of patient types profiled in the series.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL provides broad content coverage including over 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine.
Date range: 1937 - onward
Index to Chiropractic Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index to chiropractic literature from a wide range of chiropractic journals. Indexes all chiropractic peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover, and others topically, using terms from the MeSH Database and CHIROSH (Chiropractic Subject Headings). This is an index only, no full-text is available
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine database, covering worldwide medical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services. Indexes over 3,800 titles from 70 countries. Full text links where available.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the leading bibliographic database for sports and sports medicine research. It includes records from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations and more.

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

FINDit

Websites

British Chiropractic Association
The British Chiropractic Association (BCA) is the largest and longest-standing association for chiropractors in the UK.
General Chiropractic Association
The General Chiropractic Council (GCC) regulates all chiropractors in the UK to ensure the safety of patients undergoing chiropractic treatment.
World Chiropractic Alliance
The WCA organised president established and administered a non profit organization that created the first and oldest scientific evidence based guidelines in the chiropractic profession.
A Practical Guide to Clinical Medicine
A comprehensive physical examination and clinical education site for medical students and other health care professionals
Chiro Blog - for Chiropractic and Chiropractors
Blog of the Chiropractic resource Organization.
The History of Modern Biomedicine
The History of Modern Biomedicine Research Group, funded by the Wellcome Trust, studies the history of recent biomedicine principally by employing oral history methodology. Resources created by the Group include individual interviews, Witness Seminars and events.
Journal of American Medical Association
For original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of biomedicine.
JOSPT
Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy. A Journal covering research about musculoskeletal rehabilitation, orthopaedics, physical therapy, and sports medicine.
BMJ: Best Practise
BMJ Best Practice takes you quickly and accurately to the latest evidence-based information, whenever and wherever you need it. BMJ Best Practice is an evidence-based generalist point of care tool, uniquely structured around the patient consultation with advice on symptom evaluation, test ordering and treatment approach.

Key Journals

Here are some examples of eJournals you may find useful:

Chiropractic History

Chiropractic Journal

Chiropractic Report

Journal of Manipulative and Physiological Therapeutics

Lancet

Spine

Here are some examples of printed journals you may find useful:

British Medical Journal

Chiropractic History

Chiropractic Report

Health Education Journal

Journal of Applied Physiology

If you are looking for a particular journal title then click 'FIND JOURNALS' at the top of FIND it to search/browse an A-Z list. When you find the journal you want, click on the title to see all relevant information for that title.

The 'View Online' section will provide you with links to the journal and information about which date range USW has access to.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

Chiropractic: Finding Articles

What is a Journal?