Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mathematics: Finding Standards

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

WHAT IS A STANDARD?

A Standard is a code of best practice for doing something, for example making a product, managing a process, delivering a service or supplying materials. Standards are used to ensure uniformity and consistency, reliability and safety and provide a quality benchmark. They contain technical specifications and guidelines.

Many standards are produced by national bodies, but some are produced internationally or by industry.

ACCESS AT USW

We have full text access to all current British Standards (BS) and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (IEEE) standards. 

Many International Standards (ISO) standards also have BS equivalents and are available online too.  

SEARCH ENGINES

Note - These do not provide full-text standards but will allow you to find bibliographic details.  You will then be able to check BSOL & IEEE to see if a standard is within the Library's subscription.

Content Online is a collection of links to a number of useful online resources providing information about standards and related information in a range of sectors.

NSSN - Search Engine for Standards gives access to information from standards organisations from around the world.

Techstreet provides information about industry codes and standards from around the world.

SAE MOBILUS

SAE Mobilus (formerly know as SAE Digital Library) for mobility engineering resources. SAE Mobilus provides access to more than 200,000 industry-leading technical papers, standards, reports, books and magazines and other content.

IEEE EXPLORE

IEEE Logo

IEEE Xplore provides access to the full text of IEEE standards from 1988

Search for the Standard Number in the box on the homepage or browse Standards by number or by topic by selecting the link at the top left of the home page.

BRITISH STANDARDS ONLINE

 

British Standards Online is the most authoritative and up to date site for all publications from the British Standards Institute. It includes current, historic and draft British Standards.  

More than 27 000 British (BS), European (EN) and International (ISO) Standards from 1919 onwards.

1700 new standards are added every year. 

BSOL also includes; technical handbooks, codes of practice, guidelines, specifications for products, dimensions, and performance and glossaries. 

AMERICAN NATIONAL STANDARDS

For a full list of American Standards visit the ANSI web site.  Note. The University does not have full-text access to ANSI.

Some American Standards are available on IEEE. The easiest way to find out if something is available on IEEE is to first find out the standard number using the ANSI web site, then to search for the Standard Number in the box on the IEEE homepage.

You can also Browse Standards by number or by topic by selecting the link at the top left of the home page.