LibGuides: Renewable Energy and Sustainable Technology: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Useful Websites

Biogasinfo
Department of Energy and Climate Change
European Environment Agency
Environment Agency
Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Energy Technologies
The Guardian - Environment
Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Demonstration Programmes
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
Natural Resources Wales
Natural Resources Wales is a Welsh Government sponsored body, which became operational from 1 April 2013, when it took over the management of the natural resources of Wales. It was formed from a merger of the Countryside Council for Wales, Environment Agency Wales, and the Forestry Commission Wales, and also assumes some other roles formerly taken by Welsh Government.
Organics Recycling Group Renewable Energy Association
Renewable Engergy Association
Renewable UK
The trade association for wind power, wave power and tidal power industries in the United Kingdom.
Solar Energy Industries Association
Scottish Environment Protection Agency
Solar Trade Association
Sustainable Development Commission
Sustainable Energy -Without the Hot Air
Sustainable Environment Research Council (SERC)
U.S. Department of Energy
Wales Centre of Excellence for Anaerobic Digestion
Waste and Resources Action Programme
Water UK
Welsh Assembly Government
World Resources Institute

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches. More information can be found on our Help page.

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

FINDit

Key Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering a wide range of academic disciplines. It provides full text for around 9,000 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,060 titles.
Date Range: 1975 – onward
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 3,800 scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications. Additional content includes case studies, market research reports, company records, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, videos, books/monographs and conference proceedings.
Date Range: 1886 - onward
British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NB: You need to download the File open plug in. On USW computers this is available through Uniapps. https://uniapps.southwales.ac.uk/login
British Standards Online is the most authoritative and up-to-date site for all publications from the British Standards Institute. It includes current, historic and draft British Standards. NB you must download a plugin to access the pdf versions of the standards.
Date range - 1919 - onwards
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The starting place for research on a range of management subject areas. Includes full-text access to journal articles, eBooks, case studies and archives.
Date range:1967 - onward
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
Date range - 1990 onwards
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Health Science, Life Science, Arts and Humanities, Social Science and Physical Science.
Date Range: 1970 – onwards

Key Journals

Journals provide the latest research and comment.

eJournals:

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

Record TV and radio quickly and simply
View Over 1 million programmes available in the archive
Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days

BoB Curated Playlists
This is a growing collection of curated playlists hosted by Learning on Screen and curated by academics on a diverse range of disciplines, subject areas or modules.

Renewable Energy and Sustainable Technology: Finding Articles

What is a Journal?