There are many different types of information resource available to you. This page introduces you to some of the main types of information resource and their uses. Some information resources, in particular books and journal articles, are considered more suitable for use in academic study than other resources. As you study your course you will learn which information resources you are expected to use in your assignments in your subject area. To help you develop the ability to critically evaluate information, this page includes information on the CRAAP test that you can use to assess the quality of an information resource.
Sometimes you will hear information resources referred to as primary and secondary sources.
Primary sources are original materials created at the time of an event or as part of a study, piece of research or a piece of work.
Examples include research data, works of art and literature, photographs, audio and video recordings, letters, diaries, governmental and organisational records, artefacts.
Secondary sources are created from primary sources or other secondary sources and analyse and interpret primary resources or other secondary information resources.
Examples include textbooks, review articles, works of criticism and interpretation.
These are the main types of information available. You will discover the distinguishing features of each information resource and when it is good to use this type of resource as well as when it is not so good to use this type of resource.
Books are comprehensive written works on a subject. Books can be available as physical printed books or electronically as e-books.
Books are good for getting an overview of a subject and finding out about the core concepts, theories and debates in a subject area.
Books are not so good for finding up-to-date research on a subject.
Journals are periodical publications (they may, for example, be published weekly, monthly or bi-annually) that contain articles.
les only get published after they have been accepted and amended by experts). Examples of academic journals include: Nature, British Journal of Nursing or Nineteenth-Century Literature.Academic journals are good for up-to-date information and the latest research on a topic. Professional journals (trade magazines) are good to keep up to date with developments in a profession.
Newspapers are usually printed daily and contain news reports, articles and adverts. Newspapers contain the latest news from a particular country and across the world. Explore our collection of online newspapers here.
Newspapers are good for keeping up-to-date with the latest news and for historical and social research.
Newspapers are not so good for objective information or for finding peer-reviewed research and in-depth analysis.
A database is an electronic collection of information stored in a computer program that enables you to find information from the database in different ways. Databases available from the library can contain journal articles, newspaper articles, specialist information or a combination of different information resources. A full list of the databases available from the library can be found here.
Databases are good for searching across journals or other information resources to find articles or information on a particular topic.
A website is a set of pages on the internet containing information and data on a subject created by an individual or organisation. There are millions of websites many belonging to reputable organisations and individuals that provide good quality information. There are also many websites containing misleading or false information. So it is very important to evaluate the quality of any website you intend to use.
Websites are good for finding background information to help you get started with your research, for finding up-to-date information and information from the around the world.
Websites are not so good for easily finding objective and trustworthy information or peer-reviewed research.
Audio-visual materials include any resources that have been recorded in some way that can either be listened to and/or viewed. Examples include images, sound recordings, videos, television and radio programmes. We have access to Box of Broadcasts, a service from Learning on Screen that enables students and staff to watch or record television and radio programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels including 13 foreign language channels.
Audio-visual materials are good for providing an interactive learning experience and documentaries on a topic.
Audio-visual materials are not so good for finding peer-reviewed research or detailed information.
There are a range of more specialised information resources available that you may also need to use in your studies. This section explains what these are and provides links to guidance on using these resources where appropriate.
Artists' books are conceived and made by artists.
Building regulations ensure that any new construction, renovations or extensions are safe and follow standards.
Approved Documents that contain up-to-date regulations can be consulted here.
This guide gives more detail about other important documentation related to construction management.
Explore this guide to find out about cases and law reports.
Government policies are an objective or course of action planned by a government. The main place to find government policies is usually the government website.
Welsh government policies can be found at the Welsh government website
UK and English government policies can be found at gov.uk.
Clinical guidelines are an excellent starting point for most health related topics. They are are recommendations on how healthcare and other professionals should care for people with specific conditions.
NICE guidelines, subject to Welsh legislation, are used in Wales. You can find guidelines on the NICE website and you can find guidelines for the UK and worldwide on the TRIP database.
Clinical trials are research studies performed in people with the aim to evaluate a medical, surgical or behavioral intervention.
Here are some examples of webpages where clinical trials can be found:
Legislation are the laws that govern a country. In the United Kingdom, for example, there are Acts of Parliament and Statutory Instruments.
This guide explains how to search for legislation effectively.
Psychometric tests are activities or assessments designed to test a person's mental state, personality and thought processes. Since psychometric tests are produced by commercial companies, they are not always easy to find. There is a library guide to tests that can be found in books or journal articles or that may be available within the Department of Psychology and Therapeutic Studies.
A standard is an agreed and documented way of doing something. Standards contain technical specifications or other precise criteria designed to be used consistently.
Check this guide to find out about standards.
Statistical data are pieces of data expressed in numbers.
The Office of National Statistics website is a good source of statistical data about different aspects of life in the UK.
The UK Data Service collection of data includes statistical data from major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK censuses and business.
Special Collections
We have several special collections that range from theatre programmes to photographs. These collections cover art, Welsh literature, photography, storytelling, education and performance, amongst other areas.
Explore our campus collections through these links:
Cases
Law reports
Clinical Trials
Contracts
Standards
Artists Books