LibGuides: Buddhist studies: Finding Articles

What is a Journal?

Journals are publications that are published on a regular and ongoing basis, for example, weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually. They contain a selection of articles in a subject area by different authors. These articles are known as journal articles. Academic journal articles are written by researchers and their articles are reviewed by other experts in the same subject area, in a process called peer-review. Peer-reviewed journal articles are considered to be the best quality journal articles available. Journal articles are the best place to find the most recent research on a topic.

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Useful Websites

Here are some links to high quality websites in your subject area:

FINDit

Key Journals

Here are some examples of ejournals you may find useful:

Key Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covering a wide range of academic disciplines. It provides full text for around 9,000 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,060 titles.
Date Range: 1975 – onward
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete includes full text for more than 1,230 journals.
Full text journals, books and other published sources, covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences II & III This link opens in a new window
Arts & Sciences II contains: economics, history, archaeology, classics, area studies (Latin American, Middle Eastern, Slavic, African and Asian.
Arts & Sciences III contains: language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, art and art history, architecture and architectural history.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

Buddhist studies: Finding Articles