LibGuides: Lighting Design and Live Event Technology: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Useful Websites

Association of Lighting Designers
The website of the professional body representing lighting designers working in the live performance industry in the United Kingdom and many other parts of the world.
lighting.com
Your online source for everything lighting
NPL
NPL is the UK's National Measurement Institute, and is a world-leading centre of excellence in developing and applying the most accurate measurement standards, science and technology available
PLASA
PLASA is the lead international membership body for those who supply technologies and services to the event, entertainment and installation industries
STLD
Society of Television Lighting and Design
TVB Europe
TVBEurope is the leading European broadcast technology brand providing news and analysis, business profiles and case studies on the latest industry developments.
The Institution of Lighting
UK and Ireland's largest and most influential professional lighting association, dedicated solely to excellence in lighting.

Students, Apprentices and Trainees may join FREE OF CHARGE for a maximum of 3 years. You should be undertaking some form of lighting education to qualify.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

Key Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
Date Range: 1985 - present
British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NB: You need to download the File open plug in. On USW computers this is available through UniApps. https://uniapps.southwales.ac.uk/login
British Standards Online is the most authoritative and up-to-date site for all publications from the British Standards Institute. It includes current, historic and draft British Standards. NB you must download a plugin to access the pdf versions of the standards.
Date range - 1919 - onwards
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 3,800 scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications. Additional content includes case studies, market research reports, company records, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, videos, books/monographs and conference proceedings.
Date Range: 1886 - onward
Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Note: You must create a new User Account to begin using your subscription. Once you have completed the registration process, you will land on the Main Menu which lists the products that you have access to. An online tool to quickly access current regulations, construction standards, technical advice and industry news on building, engineering, design and construction processes in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards