LibGuides: Film &amp; Media: Finding articles

What is a Journal?

Journals are publications that are published on a regular and ongoing basis, for example, weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually. They contain a selection of articles in a subject area by different authors. These articles are known as journal articles. Academic journal articles are written by researchers and their articles are reviewed by other experts in the same subject area, in a process called peer-review. Peer-reviewed journal articles are considered to be the best quality journal articles available. Journal articles are the best place to find the most recent research on a topic.

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Useful websites

Key databases

These are some of the most important databases for your subject:

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from international publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and more.
Date range: 1995 – onward
Performing Arts Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals database (formerly International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (IIPA)) provides indexing, abstracts and full text to more than 160 journals.
- Date range: 1997 – onwards
Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Screen Studies Collection (formerly known as Film Indexes Online) combines three key online resources for research in film: AFI Catalog, FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals, and Film Index International.
- Date Range: Varies by Database

To access more databases, go to the Film & Visual Effects databases page here.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.