Skip to Main Content

Event Management: Finding Articles

Mae'r canllaw hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

Key Databases

The easiest way to find articles is by using an appropriate database. You can search by subject/keyword, author, title, etc., for details of where articles and papers can be found.  Benefits include the ability to search a number of years together; more summaries and abstracts, and often there is direct access to the full-text.

These are some of the most important databases for your subject:

To see all the business databases you have access to, take a look at our A-Z database list.

Key Journals

Journals (also known as periodicals or serials) are published on a regular basis (for example, weekly or monthly).  Each journal issue contains a number of articles written by different authors.  Journals differ in quality and reputation: peer reviewed journals are regarded as being of higher quality.  Here are some examples of journals that are available to you to browse online:

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

  • Record TV and radio quickly and simply
  • View Over 1 million programmes available in the archive
  • Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
  • Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
  • Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days

 

BoB Curated Playlists
This is a growing collection of curated playlists hosted by Learning on Screen and curated by academics on a diverse range of disciplines, subject areas or modules.

FINDit

 

FINDit is a simple, one-step search method for books, e-books, articles, DVDs and more, and includes a number of personalized features for you.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches. 

Google Scholar Search

Useful Websites

Special Collections

Travel & Tourism News (via Mintel)

Log in to Mintel Oxygen Academic may be required - please see link above.

Loading ...