LibGuides: Strategy & Management: Finding Articles

looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Key Journals

Journals (also known as periodicals or serials) are published on a regular basis (for example, weekly or monthly). Each journal issue contains a number of articles written by different authors. Journals differ in quality and reputation: peer reviewed journals are regarded as being of higher quality. Here are some examples of journals that are available to you to browse online:

Here are some examples of print edition journals available that you may find useful:

The Economist (2 years held) - please see RSS feed to the right displaying the latest business headlines
The Economic Review
International Journal of Business Performance Management

These are only a few of the titles available. Use FINDit and the Library Catalogue to discover more.

Key Databases

The easiest way to find articles is by using an appropriate database. You can search by subject/keyword, author, title, etc., for details of where articles and papers can be found. Benefits include the ability to search a number of years together; more summaries and abstracts, and often there is direct access to the full-text.

These are some of the most important databases for Strategy & Management:

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Full text for more than 3,800 scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications. Additional content includes case studies, market research reports, company records, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, videos, books/monographs and conference proceedings.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date Range: 1886 - onward
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window The starting place for research on a range of management subject areas. Includes full-text access to journal articles, eBooks, case studies and archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date range:1967 - onward
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date range 1975 - onwards
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Health Science, Life Science, Arts and Humanities, Social Science and Physical Science.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date Range: 1970 – onwards

To see all the business databases you have access to, take a look at our A-Z database list.

Market Research

Mintel Reports
Contains market research reports on a wide range of industries including food, drink, retail, technology, media and automotive.
Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market share analysis and consumer profiles.

IBIS World
Market industry research reports for UK, US and China. Also includes risk impact reports and Brexit impact reports.

Mintel Market Sizes
Contains market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide.

Marketline Information
Contains company profiles, SWOT analyses, PESTLE analyses, industry profiles, country profiles, case studies, and news.
Select the company profiles, or company information link to get access.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista is a great source of global market and consumer data. It includes statistics, reports, infographics, surveys, industry and market reports. Over 85,000 topics are covered, including media, business, politics, society, technology, education.

Scopus Tutorials

FINDit

Useful websites

CMI | Chartered Management Institute
CMI is a chartered professional body in the UK dedicated to promoting high standards in management and leadership excellence.
The Conversation (UK Edition) | Business and Economy
The Conversation is an independent source of news and views, sourced from the academic and research community.
ILM | Institute of Leadership & Management
The Institute of Leadership & Management (ILM) is a management body for the UK combining qualifications and specialist member services.
IoD | Institute of Directors
IoD has been supporting businesses and the people who run them since 1903.
JSTOR Daily | Business & Economics
JSTOR Daily draws on scholarly research to provide fresh insight into the news media and current affairs.
TED Talks | Business
1900+ talks to stir your curiosity
British Library Business and Management Portal
The Business and Management Portal delivers high quality digital content from the British Library's business and management collections.

Business news from 'The Economist'

The latest issue of 'The Economist' (print edition) is available at Treforest Library and Student Centre. Online access may be restricted.

Gartner This link opens in a new window
Access to the Core online resources for Gartner. Gartner is the leading provider of research and analysis on the global information (IT) industry. Learn about the latest IT research and technology news, case studies and trends to support your research.

You can use Gartner to access:

· The latest IT research and technology news, case studies and trends to support your research and business projects

· Research special projects – Providing insights into major business and technology trends

· Gartner Magic Quadrant, Vendor Ratings and Hyde Cycles, to inform plans and support business decisions

· Online IT events

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

Case Studies

Business Case Studies
Free downloadable case studies involving real companies.
Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies
We have access to case studies from 2016 via Emerald that offer practical insights into real-world situations. To get access, do your topic search, then from the results list use the limiters on the left-hand side to select 'case studies' and 'only content I have access to'.
Business Source Complete Case Studies
Use Business Source Complete to find case studies within articles.
Using the first line of the search add your topic, e.g. Leadership.Then add another line wtih "case studies" and select SU Subject Terms from the drop down menu.

Strategy & Management: Finding Articles

What is a journal?