LibGuides: Youth and Community Work: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Key Journals

Journals you may find useful include:

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

Record TV and radio quickly and simply
View Over 1 million programmes available in the archive
Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days

BoB Curated Playlists
This is a growing collection of curated playlists hosted by Learning on Screen and curated by academics on a diverse range of disciplines, subject areas or modules.

FINDit

Key Databases

A database is an electronic collection of information stored in a computer program that enables you to find information from the database in different ways.

Databases that are most useful for this subject area are:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering a wide range of academic disciplines. It provides full text for around 9,000 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,060 titles.
Date Range: 1975 – onward
ASSIA (Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals.
Date range: 1976 - present
British Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index to literature published mainly in the UK on research, policy and practice in education and training.
Date range: 1950 - present
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides abstracts to the literature on the growth and development of children.
Date range: 1927 - onward
Community Care Inform This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Community Care Inform is an online comprehensive data source that contains a wealth of expert-written, practice-related information, including: Guidance to key pieces of legislation, Expert articles, Practice guides.
You will need to login to this resource. Select 'University of South Wales’ from the UK Federation (Shibboleth) Login menu.
NSPCC Library Catalogue This link opens in a new window
The NSPCC Library catalogue is the online catalogue of the NSPCC Library and Information Service. It is freely available for anyone to search and it contains literature on children and childhood, specialising in published and unpublished literature on child safeguarding and protection, child abuse and neglect. It also includes case reviews and NSPCC research.