LibGuides: Accounting and Finance: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Key Databases

Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 3,800 scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications. Additional content includes case studies, market research reports, company records, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, videos, books/monographs and conference proceedings.
Date Range: 1886 - onward
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The starting place for research on a range of management subject areas. Includes full-text access to journal articles, eBooks, case studies and archives.
Date range:1967 - onward
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Financial Analysis made Easy. Comprehensive information on companies in the UK and Ireland. Company financials, in detailed format, with up to 10 years of history.
Available on and off campus (UK mainland only)
IBIS World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market Industry Research Reports for UK, US and China. Also includes Risk Impact reports and BREXIT impact reports.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards

Key Journals

Here are some examples of online and print journals you may find useful:

Abacus
Accounting and business research
Accounting, auditing and accountability
Accounting forum
Accounting horizons
Accounting, organizations and society
Accounting review
British tax review (available in the Law Library)
Journal of accounting and economics
Journal of business finance & accounting

Top tips to getting started with the FT.COM

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

Record TV and radio quickly and simply
View Over 1 million programmes available in the archive
Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days

BoB Curated Playlists
This is a growing collection of curated playlists hosted by Learning on Screen and curated by academics on a diverse range of disciplines, subject areas or modules.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

FINDit

Elsewhere on the web

Accounting Web
AccountingWEB is a leading publication for the accounting profession in the United States.
ACCA
ACCA (the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants) is the global body for professional accountants.
Accountancy Age
News and advice for UK business finance professionals.
ATT
The Association of Taxation Technicians (ATT) sets the benchmark in technical education and qualification for taxation technicians. It is the leading professional body for qualified taxation technicians who specialise in complying with UK tax obligations, compliance services and related activities.
The Bank of England
Here you can find all of the Banks’ main regular publications, including the Inflation Report, Quarterly Bulletin and the Financial Stability Review.
CIPFA
CIPFA, the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy, is the professional body for people in public finance. Our 14,000 members work throughout the public services, in national audit agencies, in major accountancy firms, and in other bodies where public money needs to be effectively and efficiently managed.
CIOT - Chartered Institute of Taxation
The CIOT is the leading professional body in the UK for advisers dealing with all aspects of taxation.
CIMA - Chartered Institute of Management Accountants
CIMA is the world's largest professional body of management accountants.
Corporate Governance Codes (UK)
Financial Reporting Council
Daily Telegraph: Finance
All the latest finance news, including what's happening in the economy, companies, share and money markets and how you can make the most of your personal finances.
Europa
Official website of the European Union.
HM Revenue and Customs
HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) was formed on the 18 April 2005, following the merger of Inland Revenue and HM Customs and Excise Departments. Work is still continuing on our office restructuring programme. We are here to ensure the correct tax is paid at the right time, whether this relates to payment of taxes received by the department or entitlement to benefits paid.
IFRS
The IFRS Foundation is an independent, not-for-profit private sector organisation working in the public interest.
ICAEW - Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales
ICAEW is a world leading professional membership organisation that promotes, develops and supports over 142,000 chartered accountants worldwide.
IFS - Institute for Fiscal Studies
Our goal at the Institute for Fiscal Studies is to promote effective economic and social policies by better understanding how policies affect individuals, families, businesses and the government's finances.
OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
The mission of the OECD is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.
IFAC - International Federation of Accountants
IFAC is the global organization for the accountancy profession dedicated to serving the public interest by strengthening the profession and contributing to the development of strong international economies.
Institute of Business Ethics
The Institute of Business Ethics is a registered charity which promotes high standards of business practice based on ethical values.
Free downloadable Business Ethics reports available.
Fraud Intelligence
Financial Reporting Council (FRC)

https://www.wallstreetmojo.com/ Free Guides and Resources to help you learn Investment Banking, Financial Modeling, Equity Research, Private Equity & more.

Newspapers

ft.com/USW - Set up an account and access to the Financial Times online!

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers by using any of the following resources:

European Newsstream

LexisLibrary

Gartner This link opens in a new window
Access to the Core online resources for Gartner. Gartner is the leading provider of research and analysis on the global information (IT) industry. Learn about the latest IT research and technology news, case studies and trends to support your research.

You can use Gartner to access:

· The latest IT research and technology news, case studies and trends to support your research and business projects

· Research special projects – Providing insights into major business and technology trends

· Gartner Magic Quadrant, Vendor Ratings and Hyde Cycles, to inform plans and support business decisions

· Online IT events

Accounting and Finance: Finding Articles

What is a Journal?