Skip to main content

Staff guide to the library: Publications and Data Support

A guide for new staff/
Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

Pure and the USW Repository

Institutional Repositories are digital collections of the research output of an institution. The content of these repositories is available in many formats which includes pre-prints and published articles, books, book chapters, theses, conference proceedings, audio visual items and other materials published by the institution. The Repository provides a location and focus for the collection, preservation and dissemination of the research output of an institution in digital form.

The University of South Wales Research Explorer
The University of South Wales Research Explorer is the public portal for USW’s institutional repository, which is part of Pure the new Comprehensive Research Information System (CRIS) at USW. It is used to record and manage staff research details concerning research outputs, research profiles, projects, research activities, awards and impact.  USW theses are also available from the USW research Explorer under the section labelled Students.

Pure is part of the University's Comprehensive Research Information System (CRIS) and is used to record details of research activity at the institution.

Pure holds all University research activity including academic details such as Faculty, School and Research Institute. It enables the user to record all research publications, projects and activities, evidence of impact and press clippings. Researchers from the University of South Wales can access more information about submitting research outputs and Pure in general by visiting the USW Pure pages.

The implementation of Pure presents the academic community with a wide range of benefits to assist with their research endeavours, including the promotion of their research portfolio. The University will be able to strategically highlight the depth, breadth and excellence of research conducted at the institution.  In parallel, Pure provides a mechanism for the University to meet internal and external reporting and compliance requirements on research activity and we intend to use the system for this purpose. Therefore, whilst Pure is of benefit to the researcher through maximising compliance and coverage of their work, the majority of HEIs are working towards a mandate for staff for the incorporation of academic outputs. 

Whilst the University encourages academic users to deposit as many of their publications as possible, it is mandatory that users update their Pure profile as follows: 

1.      All outputs published since 1st January 2014 (commencement of the REF2021 assessment period).

2.      All journal articles and conference proceedings with an ISSN accepted for publication from 1st April 2016 (to comply with the USW and HEFCE/REF policy on Open Access and ensure eligibility for REF2021 submission). 

Academic users should also be aware that all outputs uploaded into Pure will be automatically available in the USW Research Explorer (our externally facing, institutional repository) which is discoverable via Google. Thus, the more outputs that are included in a Pure profile, the richer the data that is made available to the USW Research Explorer. Items that are confidential or have restricted access can be registered as such on Pure so that they can be reported, but hidden from public view via the USW Research Explorer. 

ORCIDS

ORCID’s (Original Researcher and Creator IDs) are unique persistent digital identifiers for individual researchers.  Previously, different databases and citation sources used different ID numbers for the same researcher and now ORCIDs are becoming the standard identifier for researchers.   

The Higher Education Funding Councils recently gave notice that ORCID’a as a staff identifier for all submitted staff will be a requirement in future research exercises.  USW staff and researchers are strongly encouraged to create an ORCID using the signin link below.  The process only takes a couple of minutes and you can add details such as education and employment history.  Once you have created an ORCID please remember to add it to personal your Profile in Pure.     

https://orcid.org/signin

ISBNs & Copyright

Readers will be familiar with the wide spread use of ISBNs (International Standard Book Numbers) which are assigned to almost all published books. In line with this practice, all University print-based publications should have an ISBN assigned to them prior to publication. This process is managed by the Library and largely extends to administering the allocation of ISBN numbers and maintaining documentation of our output.

Actual production of publications should be arranged by faculties and departments with USW Print & Design or external printers. Similarly, faculties and departments are responsible for marketing, distribution and, if necessary, sales of their publications.

When a new publication is about to go to print, please provide our Systems and Content Manager, Wayne Morris with the brief bibliographical details, i.e. author, title, publication date. A copy of the title page is usually sufficient. An ISBN which can be incorporated into the monograph will then be sent to you.

The ISBN should appear on the reverse of the title page, sometimes called the copyright page or the imprint page and on the outside back cover of the book. If the book has a dust jacket, the ISBN should also appear on the back of this. If the publication is not a book, the ISBN should appear on the product (tape/CD) and on the packaging or inlay card.

If you have not already done so, please insert the following Copyright and Moral Right statements on the reverse of the title page of your publication. By asserting your Moral Rights you are asserting your right to be identified as the author of this work.

This statement should appear as follows:

Copyright © University of South Wales, [year]

All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means without written permission from the publishers.

[Author/s] has/have asserted his/her/their right to be identified as the author/s of this work in accordance with the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988.

It should be noted that we are legally bound to send copies of our publications to each of the following Legal Deposit Libraries:

The British Library

The Bodleian Library, Oxford

The University Library, Cambridge

The National Library of Scotland, Edinburgh

The Library of Trinity College, Dublin

The National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.

In addition, we would like at least one copy for our University Library collections. For this reason, seven copies of each publication should be supplied to the Library for this purpose. Please address your copies to:

Systems and Content Manager
University of South Wales
Student Centre & Library
Room L230
Treforest
PONTYPRIDD
CF37 1DL

You can find out more about ISBNs from the ISBN Agency (external link) and legal deposit from the Agency for the Legal Deposit Libraries (external link).

Metrics

Bibliometrics is the statistical analysis of bibliographic data, commonly focusing on citation analysis of research outputs and publications, i.e. how many times research outputs and publications are being cited. 

Bibliometric measures do not necessarily measure the quality of the research output but only how often the work is being cited, and this can be taken as one measure of impact.  There may be other issues to consider when measuring impact and it will depend on the discipline or area of research, for example, citation analysis may not be helpful when assessing the impact of research on public policy. 

The Metrics Toolkit provides a good overview of the main metrics used in scholarly communications.   USW researchers should contact the USW Research Librarian for any assistance with metrics related to publications and outputs, any general queries on research impact should be directed to the Impact team in RISe.      

Research Data Management

Central to the principle of good research practice is the honest, accurate and meticulous recording and storage of research data. Research Data Management is not a single issue, it presents many challenges and raises many questions throughout the research lifecycle, but at its core, RDM is concerned with the active management of research data. RDM applies across all disciplines and is relevant to all people who conduct and manage research.  The University expects all researchers to conduct research in a responsible and ethical manner and RDM is an intrinsic element of good practice.  

The University RDM Policy stipulates that all new research projects must have a data management and sharing plan.  These plans must consider copyright, intellectual property, data licensing, data protection, data access & security and data re-use.

USW researchers with queries about Data Management Plans, archiving data or any other element of RDM can get in contact with the Research Librarian (for general queries) or the Funding Officers in RISe (for queries on Funding requirements for RDM).  

USW Research Data Management Policy

RCUK position statement

Overview of funders’ data policies

Open Access (OA)

Open Access (OA) seeks to ensure that the outcomes of research can be freely accessed online by anyone in the world for full use or reuse. 

The University of South Wales is committed to ensuring compliance with open access requirements, specifically HEFCE/REF and research funder policies. It also highlights the responsibilities on our academic staff but also the benefits to authors. 

In October 2015 the University published its Open Access Policy. For more information about open access, what it means for the REF and funder expectations please see our additional Open Access pages below. The key messages from the policy are:

  • The University of South Wales recognises the value of it research, much of which is world and internationally leading, and so is committed to ensuring its knowledge and expertise is shared as widely and accessible as possible to maximise its use and impact.
  • The University of South Wales supports a preferred Green open access publishing route, via its institutional repository. It applies to all authors of research at the institution, both staff and students and compliance will be monitored.
  • The policy currently relates to peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings with an International Standard Serial Number (ISSN). Authors are free to choose where to publish but must be responsible for ensuring they comply with the University policy on open access, the open access policies of the funders from which the research has arisen and the post-REF 2014 directive on open access from HEFCE. 

The benefits of open access publishing are widely recognised. It enables research to be disseminated quickly and widely allowing greater visibility, increased citations and the stimulation of new opportunities and collaborations.

Click here to view to useful diagram outlining the benefits to you of Open Access.

Funder Open Access requirements

Many funders of research have Open Access policies in place and authors are advised to check requirements at the outset of the project lifecycle. Depending on the funder, you may also be able to apply for funding towards article processing charges (Gold Open Access publishing) within the application.
 

The RCUK Open Access policy expects that from April 2013, peer-reviewed research articles and conference proceedings arising from research that was funded wholly or partially by a RCUK grant should be made available online.

RCUK supports Gold and Green Open Access, but its preferred route is for Gold Open Access enabling the article to become Open Access as soon as it is published online. RCUK provide block grants to institutions in receipt of substantial RCUK funding to cover the costs of article processing charges.

For Green Open Access publishing, where a journal does offer an immediate Open Access option, RCUK will accept a delay in the article becoming Open Access of 6 months for STEM subjects or 12 months for arts, humanities and social sciences. Currently, where APC funds are unavailable from the research funder, longer embargo periods will be allowable of 12 months for STEM disciplines or 24 months for the arts, humanities and social sciences.

The REF requires Open Access. In April 2014, on behalf of the four UK Higher Education Funding Councils, HEFCE published the Policy for open access in the post-2014 Research Excellence Framework. The policy states that:

"To be eligible for submission to the post-2014 REF, authors' final peer-reviewed manuscripts must have been deposited in an institutional or subject repository on acceptance of publication. Deposited material should be discoverable and free to read and download, for anyone with an internet connection."

The policy applies to: 

  • All researchers (staff and students) based at UK HEIs and supports the Green open access route via institutional or subject-based repositories. 
  • All journal articles and published conference proceedings with an International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) accepted for publication from 1st April 2016.

For outputs to be eligible for the next REF, authors must ensure that:

  • All journal articles and conference proceedings with an ISSN accepted for publication from 1st April 2016 must be made open access via our USW Research Explorer, the University’s institutional repository.
  • The author’s accepted and final peer reviewed text must be deposited in USW Research Explorer, via Pure on acceptance of publication.
  • Authors note any embargo periods. REF guidelines state that embargo periods should not exceed the following time periods: 12 months (Panel A and B) or 24 months (Panel C and D).

Exceptions

There are a number of exceptions to the policy which will still permit an output to be admissible to the REF. Authors will need to notify the University if they believe that their output is eligible as an exception to the policy. The policy does not apply to monographs, other long form publications, non-text, creative and practice based research, and research data.

USW researchers and staff can get more information on Open Access from the Research Librarian

 

The following links provide more information about the open access policies from Funders and Publishers:

  • Sherpa Juliet (external link) is a service provided Jisc that enables searchesr to see funders conditions for open access publication.  
  • SHERPA/RoMEO  (external link) was developed by Loughborough University and is hosted at Nottingham University. It provides information on the policies for open access for a wide range of academic journals and their publishers.