LibGuides: Health, Wellbeing and Social Care Management: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Key Databases

ASSIA (Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals.
Date range: 1976 - present
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL provides broad content coverage including over 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine.
Date range: 1937 - onward
Community Care Inform This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Community Care Inform is an online comprehensive data source that contains a wealth of expert-written, practice-related information, including: Guidance to key pieces of legislation, Expert articles, Practice guides.
You will need to login to this resource. Select 'University of South Wales’ from the UK Federation (Shibboleth) Login menu.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, abstracts and bibliographic records from key journals in all psychological disciplines, plus a selection of dissertations.
Date range: 1890 - present
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index to the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. This database works with FINDit to locate full-text availability in other databases subscribed to by the library.
Date range: 1806 - Present
Westlaw Edge UK This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A key legal research database including UK cases from 1220, such as The Law Reports and the English Reports. Fully consolidated laws in force, including Acts from 1267 and Statutory Instruments from 1948, the Legal Journals Index from 1986 and European materials.
What's new? They say:
Updated, modern and user-friendly interface
Enhanced search
Enhanced document display
Personalisation (set your own homepage, favourites, folders, history and annotations
Key date calendars
Enhanced security

FINDit

Useful Websites

Community Care
Contact a family
This is a directory of specific conditions and rare syndromes in children with their family support networks.
Department of Health
The section of the Department of Health website that contains sub-sections on a range of topics in social care. Categorised policy documents, non-clinical guidance, newsletters, links and other resources can be accessed here.
Health in Wales
Provides access to links to information about the health of the population of Wales and health and social care services provided by NHS Wales.
MIND
A mental health charity for England and Wales, working to promote autonomy, equality, knowledge, participation and respect for everyone with experience of mental distress.
Social Care Institute for Excellence
Wales - Social Care
The section of the WAG website that covers social services and social care in Wales.