Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are some shelfmarks to get you started.
||Psychology of Leadership
||Leadership as a Social Process
|CAT 2. 344.2041 (Law Library)
||Business Research Methodology
||Human Resource Management
||Training & Development
||Leadership Role of Chief Executives
Myths of Leadership by WINNER: CMI Management Book of the Year 2019 - Aspiring Leaders Category. Myths of Leadership blasts away the fluff and confronts false legends head on. Jo Owen uses the most credible research to analyse each myth, using international business case studies, leadership theory and insightful interviews, to uncover the truth.
Publication Date: 2017-10-28
Armstrong on Performance Management by Armstrong on Reinventing Performance Management presents a holistic approach to performance management, drawing on Michael Armstrong's vast research and experience. Most organizations have performance management processes in one form or another, but these are often based on formal annual reviews, forced rankings and directly linked to pay decisions.
Publication Date: 2017-01-28
Human Resource Management: A Contemporary Approach by Human Resource Management: A Contemporary Approach seeks to raise critical awareness of HRM through a series of highly readable chapters which expertly entwine research informed theory with practical insights to the subject.
Publication Date: 2017
International Human Resource Management by This engaging textbook offers a readable introduction to International Human Resource Management. It explores the international dimensions of managing human resources, with a focus on comparative HRM and multinational organisations. It tackles the issues raised by cross-national differences in HRM styles and explores key themes.
Publication Date: 2016-12-04
Employee Relations by Fostering positive relationships between employers and employees is crucial to ensure employee commitment and engagement, as well as overall business performance. Employee Relations is a practical guide to the principles and practice of employee relations in the workplace. Covering the key areas such as conflict and dispute resolution, dismissal and redundancies, rights and ethics, it equips you with the skills and knowledge you need to plan, implement and assess employee relations in any type of organization. Practical diagnostic tools and a variety of real-life examples from organizations including Amazon, HSBC and the UK Police Force are found throughout. This fully revised second edition of Employee Relations features new material on the gig economy, the virtual workplace, and recent legislation changes, and is more closely linked to the CIPD professions map. New online supporting resources include a series of templates, questionnaires and further tools to help evaluate and support the development of an effective employee relations strategy. HR Fundamentals is a series of succinct, practical guides for students and those in the early stages of their HR careers. They are endorsed by the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD), the UK professional body for HR and people development, which has over 145,000 members worldwide.
Publication Date: 2018-08-03
Academic skills for business students
Acadmic Skills for Business Students
Take a look at this reading list for a range of the best resources on academic business skills.
It includes resources to help with research, academic writing, critical thinking, reading, employability, referencing, business plans and so much more.
Research methods books in databases
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
FINDit is a simple, one-stop search engine for books, e-books, journal articles, DVDs and more.
Armstrong's Handbook of Performance Management by Armstrong's Handbook of Performance Management addresses all areas of performance management, from performance pay and giving feedback to managing underperformers and having difficult conversations, so organizations can optimize staff performance.
Publication Date: 2017-12-28
Cases in Leadership by By connecting theory to practice, this distinctive collection of 30 real-world leadership cases helps students gain a better understanding of leadership and prepares them to be effective leaders today and throughout their future careers. The cases explore integrative issues, such as globalization, diversity, ethical dilemmas, and motivation, giving readers opportunities to confront difficult real-world decisions that have captured the attention of managers in recent years.
Publication Date: 2018-03-23
Introduction to Employment Law by Covering everything from employment tribunals and discrimination to redundancy and termination of employment, this textbook doesn't assume any prior knowledge of the UK legal system and equips students with all the knowledge and skills that they need to take forward into the workplace. It includes the latest cases and legal developments, coverage of hot topics such as defining employment status in the gig economy, gender pay reporting, the GDPR and the legal implications to be considered with Britain's withdrawal from the European Union.
Publication Date: 2019-01-28
Introduction to Human Resource Management by Introduction to Human Resource Management is a comprehensive and accessible guide to the subject of HRM. Drawing on the authors' experiences in both the public and private sectors and underpinned by academic theory, this textbook follows the logical sequence of the employment cycle and shows how human resource management plays out in practice.
Publication Date: 2018-10-28
Predictive HR Analytics by HR metrics and organizational people-related data are an invaluable source of information from which to identify trends and patterns in order to make effective business decisions. But HR practitioners often lack the statistical and analytical know-how to fully harness the potential of this data. Predictive HR Analytics provides a clear, accessible framework for understanding and working with people analytics and advanced statistical techniques.
Publication Date: 2019-03-28
Leadership Team Coaching in Practice by Organizations are increasingly complex, requiring flexibility to implement significant, rapid change that goes beyond the ability of an individual leader or CEO. A high-performing and cohesive leadership team is critical for success. Leadership Team Coaching in Practice presents enlightening case studies on how leadership team coaching techniques have been applied internationally across a variety of team types and industries, including professional services, pharmaceuticals, airlines, healthcare and finance.
Publication Date: 2018-06-28
Recommend a Book
Students and staff are welcome to recommend books or eBooks for the library that support University assignments and research.
Fill out the online form or email your librarian.
When reading for study purposes there are some useful reading strategies that can help you to understand and retain information and actively engage with the text. The reading you do at University is very different to reading a novel for pleasure, use these strategies to improve your learning and your grades.