LibGuides: Strength and Conditioning: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Key Databases

A database is an electronic collection of information stored in a computer program that enables you to find information from the database in different ways. Databases in the library can contain journal articles, newspaper articles, specialist information or a combination of different information resources. Databases can be multi-disciplinary or subject specific.

Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alt Health Watch covers many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Date range: 1984 - onward
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine database, covering worldwide medical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services. Indexes over 3,800 titles from 70 countries. Full text links where available.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the leading bibliographic database for sports and sports medicine research. It includes records from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations and more.

Key journals

If you are looking for a particular journal title then click 'FIND JOURNALS' at the top of FIND it to search/browse an A-Z list. When you find the journal you want, click on the title to see all relevant information for that title.

The 'View Online' section will provide you with links to the journal and information about which date range USW has access to.

Here are some examples of eJournals you may find useful:

Here is an example of a printed journal you may find useful:

Research quarterly for exercise and sport

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers by using any of the following resources:

LexisLibrary
European Newsstream

FINDit

Useful websites

British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences
This is the professional body for sport and exercise sciences in the UK
National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA)
Based in the USA, this is the world leading membership organization for thousands of elite strength coaches, personal trainers and dedicated researchers and educators.
Sport England
Previously known as the English Sports Council, Sport England provides services and funding to sport in England.
Sport Industry Research Centre
The Sport Industry Research Centre (SIRC) is one of three sport-related research centres in the Faculty of Health and Wellbeing along with the Centre for Sport and Exercise Science (CSES) and the Centre for Sports Engineering Research (CSER). The main focus of the centre's work is the use of applied economic techniques to solve the specific research requirements of our clients and to generate new knowledge about the sport and leisure industries. In the last year, SIRC has completed research assignments for all four home nation Sports Councils as well as for UK Sport.
Sport Wales
The national organisation responsible for increasing participation and improving performance in sport in Wales.
UK Sport
Established by Royal Charter in 1997, UK Sport is responsible for investing around £100 million of public funds each year – from both the National Lottery and the Exchequer – in high performance sport.
UK Strength and Conditioning Association (UKSCA)
The Professional Body for Strength and Conditioning in the UK

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

Strength and Conditioning: Finding Articles

What is a Journal?