Journals are publications that are published on a regular and ongoing basis, for example, weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually. They contain a selection of articles in a subject area by different authors. These articles are known as journal articles. Academic journal articles are written by researchers and their articles are reviewed by other experts in the same subject area, in a process called peer-review. Peer-reviewed journal articles are considered to be the best quality journal articles available. Journal articles are the best place to find the most recent research on a topic.
‘Flightpath to the future’ is a strategic framework for the aviation sector that supports the Department for Transport’s vision for a modern, innovative and efficient sector over the next 10 years.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowCovers literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Full text articles from IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, abstracts and bibliographic records from key journals in all psychological disciplines, plus a selection of dissertations.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Here are some examples of eJournals.
Here are some examples of print journals available in the library.
Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:
Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.
Engineering Case Studies Online is a collection that will grow to include 250 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text resources to meet this growing need. Content is displayed alongside targeted learning objects designed to facilitate detailed understanding of the causes and impact of these failures. Materials in the collection include:
• Feature-length video documentaries of major failures.
• Monographs explaining cases in detail and describing key engineering concepts and issues.
• Simulations depicting precisely what went wrong.
• Primary footage of accidents, including related news segments.
• Audio footage and transcripts.
• Testimonies from participants, victims, and witnesses.
• Images, accident reports, blueprints, and other key archival content whenever available.
• Bibliographies of authoritative materials from newspapers, Web sites, and journals.
• Specially written cases that explore engineering ethics.
The collection provides in-depth coverage for more than 50 of the most frequently taught and seminal case studies around the world together. Example cases include:
| • Air France flight 4590 | • Comet airliners | • Space shuttle Challenger |
| • Apollo 13 | • Deepwater Horizon oil rig | • Tacoma Narrows bridge |
| • The Big Dig | • Ford Pinto | • Titanic |
| • Boeing 787 Dreamliner | • Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant | • TWA flight 800 |
| • Chernobyl power plant | • Hyatt Regency walkway | • Plus many more |
All materials in Engineering Case Studies Online are carefully cultivated by expert editors, with the assistance of an advisory board of engineering librarians and faculty. Materials come from a wide range of content partners, including the Digital Rights Group, BBC, Future Media, TVF International, as well as leading academic publishers such as Princeton University Press, John Wiley & Sons, Harvard University Press, and engineering associations such as the American Society of Civil Engineers.