Journals are publications that are published on a regular and ongoing basis, for example, weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually. They contain a selection of articles in a subject area by different authors. These articles are known as journal articles. Academic journal articles are written by researchers and their articles are reviewed by other experts in the same subject area, in a process called peer-review. Peer-reviewed journal articles are considered to be the best quality journal articles available. Journal articles are the best place to find the most recent research on a topic.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowBusiness, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
The easiest way to find articles is by using an appropriate eDatabase. You can search by subject/keyword, author, title, etc., for details of where articles and papers can be found. Benefits include the ability to search a number of years together; more summaries and abstracts, and often there is direct access to the full-text.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowFull Text links where available. Contains information from the leisure, recreation, sport, hospitality, tourism and culture sectors, including academic research, industry reports, books, conferences and news. Access to over 140,000 abstracts (including over 4000 full text documents), news and review articles, and over 2000 book chapters.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
To see all the business databases you have access to, take a look at our A-Z database list.
Journals (also known as periodicals or serials) are published on a regular basis (for example, weekly or monthly). Each journal issue contains a number of articles written by different authors. Journals differ in quality and reputation: peer reviewed journals are regarded as being of higher quality. Here are some examples of journals that are available to you to browse online:
International Journal of Hospitality Management
International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management
Journal of Hospitality and Tourism Management
International Journal of Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research
Management Decision
Management Quarterly
Managing Service Quality
Journal of Marketing Management
Journal of organizational behaviour
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowBusiness, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
This link opens in a new windowThis database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowStatista is a great source of global market and consumer data. It includes statistics, reports, infographics, surveys, industry and market reports. Over 85,000 topics are covered, including media, business, politics, society, technology, education.
Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers by using any of the following resources:
LexisLibrary
European Newsstream (formerly UK Newsstand)
Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches. More information can be found on our Help page.