LibGuides: Environmental Science: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Websites

British Geological Survey
DEFRA
The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs is the UK government department responsible for policy, regulations and guidance on the environment, food and rural affairs.
Environment Agency
This is the Executive Non-departmental public body responsible to the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and an Assembly sponsored public body responsible to the National Assembly for Wales. Its principal aims are to protect and improve the environment and to promote sustainable development.
LandIS -Land information System
LandIS, the 'Land Information System’, is a substantial environmental information system operated by Cranfield University, designed to contain soil and soil-related information for England and Wales including spatial mapping of soils at a variety of scales as well as corresponding soil property and agro-climatological data.
Natural Resources Wales
The principal adviser to the Welsh Government on the environment, enabling the sustainable development of Wales’ natural resources for the benefit of people, the economy and wildlife
NERC Open Research Archive
Office for National Statistics
• The ONS produces independent information to improve understanding of the UK's economy and society. It provides statistical data across a broad range of subject areas including population and environment.
Science Photo Library

Encyclopedia of life
Global access to knowledge about life on earth
Freshwater Biological Association
Founded in 1929, it promotes freshwater science through innovative research, maintained specialist scientific facilities, a programme of scientific meetings, production of publications, and by providing sound independent scientific opinion.
Index to Organism Names (ION)
ION contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record® database. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from other Thomson Reuters databases such as BIOSIS Previews®.
Marine Biological Association
Founded in 1884, its aim is 'to promote scientific research into all aspects of life in the sea, including the environment on which it depends, and to disseminate to the public the knowledge gained'

Natural England
Working to protect and improve England’s natural environment and encourage people to enjoy and get involved in their surroundings.
RSPB
The RSPB is the country's largest nature conservation charity.
The Wildlife Trusts
The Wildlife Trusts want to help nature to recover from the decline that for decades has been the staple diet of scientific studies and news stories.
Nature Cams
Live streaming video of Bears, Sharks, Puffins, Osprays and much more...

British Geological Society
The website of the BGS, the world's oldest national geological survey, providing expert services and impartial advice in all areas of geoscience.
Center for International Earth Science Information Network
The Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) is a center within the Earth Institute at Columbia University. CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

Record TV and radio quickly and simply
View Over 1 million programmes available in the archive
Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days

BoB Curated Playlists
This is a growing collection of curated playlists hosted by Learning on Screen and curated by academics on a diverse range of disciplines, subject areas or modules.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

FINDit

Key Databases

Digimap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maps and map data of Great Britain. Data can be downloaded to use with software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online.
New users must complete the registration process.

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NB: You need to download the File open plug in. On USW computers this is available through UniApps. https://uniapps.southwales.ac.uk/login
British Standards Online is the most authoritative and up-to-date site for all publications from the British Standards Institute. It includes current, historic and draft British Standards. NB you must download a plugin to access the pdf versions of the standards.
Date range - 1919 - onwards
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 3,800 scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications. Additional content includes case studies, market research reports, company records, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, videos, books/monographs and conference proceedings.
Date Range: 1886 - onward
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The starting place for research on a range of management subject areas. Includes full-text access to journal articles, eBooks, case studies and archives.
Date range:1967 - onward
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering a wide range of academic disciplines. It provides full text for around 9,000 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,060 titles.
Date Range: 1975 – onward
Environmental Management This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to environmental regulations and related topics pertinent to industries in the UK and Ireland. Provides official guidance, legislation, best practices and standards on topics such as waste management, pollution, emissions, WEEE and more.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
Date range - 1990 onwards
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Health Science, Life Science, Arts and Humanities, Social Science and Physical Science.
Date Range: 1970 – onwards

Key Journals

Journals provide the latest research and comment.

All eJournals are listed on FINDit and you can search the Library Catalogue for the details of our print holdings, you can only search for journal titles not articles. If you are looking for articles try a Database or eJournal.

Here are some examples of eJournals

Print Journals

Environmental Science: Finding Articles

What is a Journal?