LibGuides: Music &amp; Sound: Finding articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Podcasts

SodaJerker on Songwriting - Interviews with some of the world's most successful songwriters

Song Exploder - is a podcast where musicians take apart their songs, and piece by piece, tell the story of how they were made. Each episode is produced and edited by host and creator Hrishikesh Hirway

Official Charts Podcasts - The series that asks big names in music questions based on the UK's best-selling singles of all time.

Sound resources

BBC Sound Effects
The BBC Sound Effects makes available 16,000 WAV format effects to download for use under licence, for personal, educational or research purposes.
British Library Sounds
(Formerly Archival Sound Recording) allows users to listen for free to 50,000 tracks of music, spoken words and environmental sounds. Listeners at licensed UK universities and colleges may additionally download tracks for their research.
British Library Sounds : Case Studies
examples and case studies of the use of BL Sounds in research by lecturers and students.
Independent Radio
(Learning on Screen) - the archives of Independent Local Radio from 1973 to 1996.

Useful websites

AIM - Association of Independent Music
BPI - British Photographic Industry
MU - Musician’s Union
Music Publishers Association
UK Music - including Research Reports e.g. This is Music 2021.

Case Studies

SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
We have access to case studies from 2016 via Emerald that offer practical insights into real-world situations. To get access, do your topic search, then from the results list use the limiters on the left-hand side to select 'case studies' and 'only content I have access to'.
Date range:1967 - onward

Key databases

These are some of the most important databases for your subject:

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
Date Range: 1985 - present
British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NB: You need to download the File open plug in. On USW computers this is available through UniApps. https://uniapps.southwales.ac.uk/login
British Standards Online is the most authoritative and up-to-date site for all publications from the British Standards Institute. It includes current, historic and draft British Standards. NB you must download a plugin to access the pdf versions of the standards.
Date range - 1919 - onwards
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)) provides indexing and abstracts to current music periodicals.
- Date Range: 1874 – onwards
Performing Arts Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals database (formerly International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (IIPA)) provides indexing, abstracts and full text to more than 160 journals.
- Date range: 1997 – onwards

To access the complete list of databases suitable for Music & Sound, go here.

Industry Information

IBIS World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market Industry Research Reports for UK, US and China. Also includes Risk Impact reports and BREXIT impact reports.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research reports covering US, EU & UK marketplaces. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market share analysis and consumer profiles.
Purple Guide to Health, Safety & Welfare at Music & Other Events This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Drawn up by the Events Industry Forum in consultation with the UK events industry, including representatives from regional and national Government. The guide aims to help those who organise music or similar events, so that the events can run safely.
Note: You must login to access the full text.

Formerly: The 'Purple Guide' (HSG195) which was originally published by the Health & Safety Executive (HSE)
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista is a great source of global market and consumer data. It includes statistics, reports, infographics, surveys, industry and market reports. Over 85,000 topics are covered, including media, business, politics, society, technology, education.