LibGuides: History: Finding Articles

Looking for a journal article

If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
You can browse a specific journal through the journals finder. This journal browser allows you to explore journal collections by subject.
Try going directly to a specialist database for results focussed on a subject area.
If you have found an article for which we do not provide access, you can request it from another library.

Key Journals

Here are some examples of eJournals you may find useful:

Key Databases

Here are some of the most important databases for History:

Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to primary source material for history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective. Thematically arranged with editiorial essays on conduct and politeness, domesticity and the family, consumption and leisure, education and sensibility, and the body.
Date range: 1450-1940.
The contents of this database are not included in FINDit.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
History of Feminism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles, images, thematic essays, and subject introductions on politics and law, religion and belief, education, literature and writings, women at home, society and culture, empire, movements and ideologies.
Date Range: 1776–1928
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books. This content comes from leading history publishers.
UK Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Modules in the U.K. Parliamentary Papers include: House of Commons 18th century & 19th century, Public Petitions to Parliament, 1833-1918, House of Commons 20th Century, House of Commons 21st Century (3 parts), House of Lords, 1800-1910, Hansard, 1803-2005.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete includes full text for more than 1,230 journals.
Full text journals, books and other published sources, covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences II & III This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Arts & Sciences II contains: economics, history, archaeology, classics, area studies (Latin American, Middle Eastern, Slavic, African and Asian.
Arts & Sciences III contains: language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, art and art history, architecture and architectural history.

FINDit

Useful Websites

Always evaluate the quality of the information you find on the free web using criteria such as the CRAAP test.

Here are some links to high quality websites in your subject area:

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers by using any of the following resources:

European Newsstream
LexisLibrary

Historical News Archives:

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education (Learning on Screen)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).

Record TV and radio quickly and simply
View Over 1 million programmes available in the archive
Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days

BoB Curated Playlists
This is a growing collection of curated playlists hosted by Learning on Screen and curated by academics on a diverse range of disciplines, subject areas or modules.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.

History: Finding Articles

What is a Journal?