Journals are publications that are published on a regular and ongoing basis, for example, weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually. They contain a selection of articles in a subject area by different authors. These articles are known as journal articles. Academic journal articles are written by researchers and their articles are reviewed by other experts in the same subject area, in a process called peer-review. Peer-reviewed journal articles are considered to be the best quality journal articles available. Journal articles are the best place to find the most recent research on a topic.
Databases that are most useful for this subject area are:
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, abstracts and bibliographic records from key journals in all psychological disciplines, plus a selection of dissertations.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Journals you may find useful include:
Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:
Google Scholar is a great way of searching for information and is a useful supplement to database searches.
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes. View on campus or at home (UK only).
BoB Curated Playlists
This is a growing collection of curated playlists hosted by Learning on Screen and curated by academics on a diverse range of disciplines, subject areas or modules.