Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to go for business information and advice
Most councils in the UK will have a business advisory service. Check the website of your local council to find yours.
Below is a selection of UK-based advisor/business information services:
Provides information, guidance and support for setting up a business.
Business and IP Centre
Supporting mall business owners, entrepreneurs and inventors.
City Business Library
Public library for business information with free access to a limited collection of high quality business databases and publications. It also includes general start up advice, information on market research, plus national and international coverage for statistics, company data and business news.
Business IP Centre
The BL Business and IP Centre is based at the British Library, London. If offers direct and online help on entrepreneurship, business start-ups and intellectual property. This includes databases, news and the latest information on researching companies.
Corporate Watch is a not-for-profit co-operative providing critical information on the social and environmental impacts of corporations and capitalism. Includes a range of company profiles.
Access to basic information on all UK companies. Companies House is the United Kingdom's registrar of companies and is an executive agency and trading fund of Her Majesty's Government.
Free online research tool links for listed company information. Provides company information including Financial Reports, Webcasts & Press Releases.
UK Standard Industrial Classification of Economic Activities 2007 (UK SIC 2007)
The United Kingdom Standard Industrial Classification of Economic Activities (SIC) is used to classify business establishments by the type of economic activity in which they are engaged.
Public register of charities in England and Wales
Find information on registered charities in England and Wales.
Track your campaigns and hashtags for free.
Accounting Standards Updates Issued
The Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) publishes these accounting updates regularly. They can be downloaded and printed for individual non-commercial purposes.
Finance - Google search
Run a dummy portfolio, buy and sell shares and see how the portfolio is performing in real time – takes up-to-date pricing from the stock market.
Portfolio - London Stock Exchange
Create an account to run a dummy portfolio, buy and sell shares and see how the portfolio is performing in real time – takes up-to-date pricing from the stock market.
Stock portfolio and tracker - Yahoo Finance
un a dummy portfolio, buy and sell shares and see how their portfolio is performing in real time – takes up-to-date pricing from the stock market.
Bank of England
Statistical releases from the Bank of England contain the latest data and, in some cases, accompanying analysis and commentary.
NOMIS - National Online Manpower Information System
Nomis is a service provided by the Office for National Statistics, ONS, to give you free access to the most detailed and up-to-date UK labour market statistics from official sources.
South West Observatory
The South West Observatory (SWO) works towards this vision by drawing together research, resources and analysis from its network of individuals and organisations working across policy themes and from different local areas in the South West.
HESA Data Analysis
Higher Education Statistics Agency (HESA) publishes data on all aspects of the UK higher education sector.
UCAS data and analysis
Undergraduate statistics and reports
NHS England statistics
We publish statistics on a range of health and care subjects. These statistics are used to inform debate, decision-making and research both within Government and by the wider community.
Health in Wales: statistics and data
Data on health and healthcare in Wales is produced by a number of different bodies for different purposes.
European Data Portal
The European Data Portal harvests the metadata of Public Sector Information available on public data portals across European countries. Information regarding the provision of data and the benefits of re-using data is also included,
OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
that promotes sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals by increased use and understanding of statistics and other information about social, economic and environmental development at local, national and global levels.
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) data portal. Useful features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries are also provided to aid research. The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes.
UNIDO Statistics Data Portal
Includes Industrial Demand Supply Statistics and Industrial Statistics databases.
World Bank Data Catalog
World Bank time series data including World Development Indicators amongst others.
UN Comtrade | International Trade Statistics Database
The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) was established in the early 1960s. For almost fifty years, it has provided a wealth of trade information to policy makers, the business community, research institutions and the general public. It stores standardised official annual and monthly trade statistics reported by countries and reflects international merchandise flows detailed by commodity and partner country with coverage reaching up to 99 percent of world merchandise trade. UN Comtrade gives you instant access to more than 3.3 billion records on merchandise trade from over 200 reporting countries or areas covering 54 years of data and more than 6000 different products. The data are updated continuously with about 300 million records added per year.
The free knowledge base with 58,959,260 data items that anyone can edit.
Future Ready Students - Library events programme
We have a fantastic program of events this year ranging from Library and study skills classes to author talks, database training sessions, and much more. Join us!